Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Furuno DRS4D radar problem

Old 11-26-2017, 06:11 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: LE inlet
Posts: 930
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Furuno DRS4D radar problem

I have the NXT radar interfaced with TZtouch2 displays. The system was installed just a couple months ago. It had worked fine until now. Friday when going down the river my radar just stopped working. When I press the TX soft button I get a Azimuth and Heading line alarm and the radar will not turn up, meaning I do not hearing it rotating. There's an error code on one of my displays it is RD003213. Any ideas? Had Furuno equipment all my life, never had an issue.

Last edited by bear 13; 11-27-2017 at 07:28 AM.
Old 11-26-2017, 06:37 AM
  #2  
Senior Member (used to be B-Faithful)Captains Club MemberPLEDGER Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 17,363
Received 1,356 Likes on 699 Posts
Default

Post on the Furuno Forums or call their customer service.

Given that you are getting a heading line alarm make me believe you are running in overlay mode and somehow you are not getting heading info... Heading info is required for overlay.

Did you try to transmit without overlaying the chart? Did you check your connections?
Old 11-26-2017, 08:07 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: LE inlet
Posts: 930
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by iFishMD View Post
Post on the Furuno Forums or call their customer service.

Given that you are getting a heading line alarm make me believe you are running in overlay mode and somehow you are not getting heading info... Heading info is required for overlay.

Did you try to transmit without overlaying the chart? Did you check your connections?
Thanks, i did check the fuse but did not want to undo the installers wiring. I am not running in overlay mode. The radar will no spin up. I may have a look again later today. A bit of a scramble cause I need to run offshore Tuesday but obviously can not without radar.
Old 12-04-2017, 11:42 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: LE inlet
Posts: 930
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Just an FYI.. My antennae was bad and needed replaced. Probably a bad motor per tech support. Must have been a fluke. It was replaced and working well now.
Likes:
Old 04-03-2018, 06:09 PM
  #5  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 176
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Just saw this post, I heard motors are going bad kind of frequently on these NXT's lately
Old 04-20-2018, 08:28 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,257
Received 83 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

watching and reading

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.