Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin ActiveCaptain OneChart with Multiple iOS devices?

Notices

Garmin ActiveCaptain OneChart with Multiple iOS devices?

Old 11-26-2017, 04:10 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 78
Default Garmin ActiveCaptain OneChart with Multiple iOS devices?

Anybody know if i can pair multiple iOS devices with my garmin 7616 chartplotters’ active captain account? I currently have my iPhone paired, but I’d like to also pair my iPad Pro (its easier to manage maps and routes from ipad, but i only bring my iPhone to the boat). In a perfect world, I’d have both paired with my 7616’s, I’d do my maps/routes management from home on my iPad, but do the transfer to my 7616’s with my iphone...

Thoughts?
wfrueh is offline  
Old 11-27-2017, 01:08 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Faro
Posts: 529
Default

Originally Posted by wfrueh View Post
Anybody know if i can pair multiple iOS devices with my garmin 7616 chartplotters’ active captain account? I currently have my iPhone paired, but I’d like to also pair my iPad Pro (its easier to manage maps and routes from ipad, but i only bring my iPhone to the boat). In a perfect world, I’d have both paired with my 7616’s, I’d do my maps/routes management from home on my iPad, but do the transfer to my 7616’s with my iphone...

Thoughts?
I’ve tested it.
You can pair more than one device.
However ActiveCaptain App doesn’t have Cloud sync of the user data.
If you want to make changes in your iphone or in your Ipad, make shure you do them in one only and make shure next time you go to your Chartplotter you connect your choosen device first to sync and only after the sync finishes you connect the other device so it can be updated by the Chartplotter data and than all of your devices will be all with the same data.
Jorinho is offline  
Old 11-27-2017, 07:11 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 21
Default

I tried the following yesterday:

- At home with user data previously synced, I deleted from my iphone aprox 20 worthless waypoints i had...

- Went to boat and performed user data sync.

The iphone waypoints i deleted did in fact remove those from my Boat MFD...

So in this example, the iphone user data "wins"....Then I sync ipad, no problem.


My bigger questions is how do you determine which device data "wins".?

What if i have new Boat MFD waypoints AND edits on my iphone waypoints....

How do you sort out the conflict of which device data "wins" (overides other)

TC
8215's NMEA networked
TC708 is offline  
Old 11-27-2017, 11:57 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Faro
Posts: 529
Default

Originally Posted by TC708 View Post
I tried the following yesterday:

- At home with user data previously synced, I deleted from my iphone aprox 20 worthless waypoints i had...

- Went to boat and performed user data sync.

The iphone waypoints i deleted did in fact remove those from my Boat MFD...

So in this example, the iphone user data "wins"....Then I sync ipad, no problem.


My bigger questions is how do you determine which device data "wins".?

What if i have new Boat MFD waypoints AND edits on my iphone waypoints....

How do you sort out the conflict of which device data "wins" (overides other)

TC
8215's NMEA networked
This I think you can't choose right now, thats why you should be careful with the syncing of more than one device with your chartplotter.
Jorinho is offline  
Old 11-27-2017, 05:02 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 78
Default

Here’s a twist... i downloaded homeport to be able to also use my iMac for charting/routing before diving/sperfishing. When i tried to login to activecaptain within homeport... they said I don’t have an account... despite the fact that I HAD to create an active captain account when setting it up on my recently updated 7616’s on my boat and paired with my iphone active captain account....

Thoughts?
wfrueh is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 04:24 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Faro
Posts: 529
Default

Originally Posted by wfrueh View Post
Here’s a twist... i downloaded homeport to be able to also use my iMac for charting/routing before diving/sperfishing. When i tried to login to activecaptain within homeport... they said I don’t have an account... despite the fact that I HAD to create an active captain account when setting it up on my recently updated 7616’s on my boat and paired with my iphone active captain account....

Thoughts?
Forget that Active Captain in Homeport.
There was a Active Captain App before and a new Garmin Active Captain App.

Garmin Homeport needs to be updated...

For now Garmin Active Captain App doesn't have Cloudsync.

You can insert your SD Card and save your Garmin Homeport created Routes/etc. and then in your Chartplotter you can import them and after sync and update your mobile devices.
Jorinho is offline  
Old 11-29-2017, 11:16 AM
  #7  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Camden, Maine
Posts: 8
Default

Originally Posted by wfrueh View Post
Here’s a twist... i downloaded homeport to be able to also use my iMac for charting/routing before diving/sperfishing. When i tried to login to activecaptain within homeport... they said I don’t have an account... despite the fact that I HAD to create an active captain account when setting it up on my recently updated 7616’s on my boat and paired with my iphone active captain account....

Thoughts?
It's confusing, but there are two ActiveCaptain accounts. The one for the new ActiveCaptain app is your Garmin account, also used at mygarmin.com and in software like Garmin Express.

But if you've ever used ActiveCaptain cruising data, now owned by Garmin and called the ActiveCaptain Community, you also have an account for that.

It seems likely that Garmin will make both accounts into one eventually, but this is the situation for now.

Also, you can definitely use the ActiveCaptain app on two mobile devices with one Garmin boat system. Both can download charts, sync routes, etc. I'm using an Android phone and an iPad no problem.

I have not checked the syncing, but there should not be a "winner" in my view. Time stamps should mean that a deletion on one device also deletes older versions of the same item on other devices and an addition on any one gets added to the others.
BenE is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread