Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin ActiveCaptain - dock to dock autorouting

Notices

Garmin ActiveCaptain - dock to dock autorouting

Old 11-27-2017, 04:25 PM
  #21  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,940
Default

Originally Posted by ralph85 View Post
This^^^^


I use it all the time. While i do double check it, autorouting has been spot on so far and makes it very easy to plot a safe course on the fly, especially into areas i'm unsure of. I'd hate to have to try to manually plot a multi-waypoint course on a rough day on my iPhone (and it's even harder on my older chartplotter). And as stated above, lots of additional information is provided as well (local weather, wind, tides, currents, points of interest, etc.).
Originally Posted by chainsaw42 View Post
so you're creating routes into areas you're unsure of, on the fly, on rough days, and checking them on your phone. sounds like a great plan!
I was thinking the same thing.

I plan my routes well in advance. And, when entering a tricky harbor (or tidal creek) here on the Chesapeake I've got a real chart in hand, plus the preplanned route on the plotter, plus my eyes on the daymarks. With shifting creek entrances here, the markers get moved frequently. Any pre-planned route is just that, a plan. Not necessarily what actually happens...When in doubt, follow the markers, or call for local knowledge.

Some creek entrances here are very interesting...Onancock, Kings Creek, Cape Charles, Smith Creek, to name a few. Cape Charles has two ranges on the entrance approach...you better be eyes on the markers and not on the plotter...

or phone.
Buoy Scout is offline  
Old 11-27-2017, 08:06 PM
  #22  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 2,470
Default

Originally Posted by RollerCoastr View Post
To be clear, you're saying your employer has placed restrictions on your Mac, not Apple, right?

I've been using Homeport exclusively on my Mac - reading and writing to SD cards for my plotter and my neighbors and friends for years now.

I had a Windows installation in a BootCamp partition, but I deleted it once Garmin released the Mac version of Homeport.
Yes, employer restrictions, not Apple. I also use Homeport on my Mac flawlessly and have the charts from my plotter on a read-only SD card. I don't do route planning on Homeport so route/WP transfer is an issue.

What I have not been able to do is download SW release updates from Garmin and install them onto the SD card on the Mac partition. I haven't toyed with this in a while but seem to recall that the SD card needed to be formatted for FAT32 for the Garmin to read it, which, IIRC, made it read-only on the Mac partition....?
BayHouse is offline  
Old 11-27-2017, 08:10 PM
  #23  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 2,470
Default

Originally Posted by Buoy Scout View Post
I was thinking the same thing.

I plan my routes well in advance. And, when entering a tricky harbor (or tidal creek) here on the Chesapeake I've got a real chart in hand, plus the preplanned route on the plotter, plus my eyes on the daymarks. With shifting creek entrances here, the markers get moved frequently. Any pre-planned route is just that, a plan. Not necessarily what actually happens...When in doubt, follow the markers, or call for local knowledge.

Some creek entrances here are very interesting...Onancock, Kings Creek, Cape Charles, Smith Creek, to name a few. Cape Charles has two ranges on the entrance approach...you better be eyes on the markers and not on the plotter...

or phone.
^^^ X1000

My planned routes (and their backup plans in case of condition changes) are also cross-referenced with other sources, including ActiveCaptain for community feedback. Entering new or unfamiliar territory and eyes are everywhere and differences to the plan need to be accounted for.
BayHouse is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 07:19 AM
  #24  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 5,526
Default

two types of auto-routers:

1. completely ignorant newbies who have no idea how to plan a route and trust it blindly. (idiotic)

2. those who use it and check every turn and consider alternative routes that may be safer/better/faster, which takes longer than creating a route from scratch. (slightly less idiotic but still makes no sense)

so, auto-routers, which one are you?


the only way it makes any sense is if you're retired or otherwise have more time on your hands than you know what to do with and use it as pastime.
chainsaw42 is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 09:13 AM
  #25  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 13
Default

I use Navionics "dock to dock auto-routing", but check each "leg" to make sure it is safe. I also check to see if its route is efficient in terms of distance. So far this has worked. I have also taken it's waypoints and plugged them into homeport so I can transfer to my garmin. That is the step I hate, and the basis for this thread.
daveddd is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 09:39 AM
  #26  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Cedar Point, OH, Miami, FL
Posts: 807
Default

Originally Posted by BayHouse View Post
What I have not been able to do is download SW release updates from Garmin and install them onto the SD card on the Mac partition.
Yeah, Garmin's extraction program is Windows-only, so I find it easier to use a PC for extraction. Once it's done, the update files can be moved to and from a Mac / SD cards.

Originally Posted by BayHouse View Post
I haven't toyed with this in a while but seem to recall that the SD card needed to be formatted for FAT32 for the Garmin to read it, which, IIRC, made it read-only on the Mac partition....?
I bet you're thinking NTFS. Macs are good with FAT32, as are Garmin units, but note that FAT32 has a 4GB limitation.
RollerCoastr is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 11:11 AM
  #27  
BCI
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 71
Default

Originally Posted by daveddd View Post
I use Navionics "dock to dock auto-routing", but check each "leg" to make sure it is safe. I also check to see if its route is efficient in terms of distance. So far this has worked. I have also taken it's waypoints and plugged them into homeport so I can transfer to my garmin. That is the step I hate, and the basis for this thread.
Garmin has had auto routing guidance built into it's plotters for over 10 years provided you have a G2 Vision card. It also has points of interest, phone numbers for the points of interest, what services they provide from fuel to moorage to food to ice etc., and satellite photos of the marinas harbours etc.

I use both garmin and navionics for auto routing for planning purposes quick and dirty. Gives me an idea the transit time, the fuel burn, the ETA, etc.

When running 12-16 hours this kind of dynamic info, constantly updating, is helpful. It is not the route I automatically take but it gives me enough info to fine tune my own plan accordingly.

Is there anything that you're missing from the Garmin auto guidance, other than being able to take it with you and work with it on your handheld device?

Try this;

https://support.garmin.com/faqSearch...DX7WpRGSfHxEP7
BCI is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 11:44 AM
  #28  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 13
Default

The garmin auto-guidance works great. I just find it much easier to route with Navionics, and wish they would output to the Garmin plotters.
daveddd is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread