Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Best bay boat tranducer mounting location

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Best bay boat tranducer mounting location

Old 11-24-2017, 02:38 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 4,175
Default Best bay boat tranducer mounting location

I pulled the trigger today on a Garmin 94sv and get to mount a new transducer. I've never been able to read depth while on plane with my current set up. I would like to read with my new set up. I'm thinking of this location but noticed after I tool the pics it is located behind a livewell pick up. Any advice is appreciated!
Attached Images  
fijon is offline  
Old 11-24-2017, 03:14 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,111
Default

Where you have marked...many use a similar mounting..seems to work for them..






.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 02:33 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 4,175
Default Cleaner water?

Naturally reading THT to much I'm really thinking this through.

Looking at the pad and not knowing what happens while running on plane... Am I in cleaner water here:
Attached Images  
fijon is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 02:34 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 4,175
Default Or here?

I like how it's tucked under on the first spot but it's still seems protected here.
Attached Images  
fijon is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 02:38 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Texas
Posts: 582
Default

You are going to have to be pretty much level or slightly lower than that step in front (where the drain plug is). Otherwise it will not even be in the water once you are on plane. That is basically just a big air pocket when planed out.
Jonboater is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 04:10 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 4,175
Default

Originally Posted by Jonboater View Post
You are going to have to be pretty much level or slightly lower than that step in front (where the drain plug is). Otherwise it will not even be in the water once you are on plane. That is basically just a big air pocket when planed out.
that makes sense. Seems I'm going to have to give up on the idea of getting depth readings on plane with this transducer and that pad.
fijon is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 04:16 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 133
Default

Johnboater is right. its gonna need to be close to the edge so it gets covered by water free of any air bubbles. Here are a couple pics of where I just put my 3D structurescan. It may be alittle low but I figured I would start there and see how bad it sprays water. Pick a spot not in line with any strakes or water pickup they can make bubbles as well.
Attached Images   
mhrmike is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 04:35 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 4,175
Default

I bump the sand back there from time to time getting up on plane in shallow water and coming off plane in areas that are much shallower than anticipated. (2 hurricanes in 2 years). I don't want to break it off or drag it through oysters. Depth is only reading I've been missing and would like to have while on plane.

Thanks for the replies. I can see now how there would be an air pocket aft of the pad while on plane. What do ya'll think about mounting it close to where the current one is but lower?
fijon is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 04:48 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 133
Default

Yeah off center would get it out of the sand. It was hard to tell from the pic. but mine is mounted about 32" up from the centerline on the port side since my motor is counter clockwise rotation.
mhrmike is offline  
Old 11-29-2017, 06:15 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 424
Default

High in the pocket will aerate, it seems as the available real estate on the back of the pad is claimed.
Though hull or shoot through if you have the room would be my 1st choice.
How deep are you fishing?
From the sounds of the terrain, i would guess relatively shallow (less than 60’)
In my bay boat we run shoot through ducers as there is less possibility of breaking one off running skinny water, the fewer holes and appendages on or in the bottom the better imho.
An inexpensive shoot through can work very well at those depths with very good returns.
Put a shoot through in a bag of water sealed at the top and move it around in the bilge while running “can help” finding the sweet spot.
I’ve experienced great success with shoot through transducers up to 1 kw for bottom fishing in certain applications.
Dan Hicks 2 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread