Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Question Re: Furuno NavNet3D + TZT + DFF3D

Old 11-23-2017, 11:00 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 28
Default Question Re: Furuno NavNet3D + TZT + DFF3D

Does anyone have a Furuno NavNet 3D (MFD8 or 12 or black box) running with a TZ Touch and hub, etc?

I'd really like to know if the DFF3D, which works with the TZT, still works if you have a NN3D and TZT connected together. Furuno just says they don't support it, but they don't know if this combination will cause problems. If anyone has tried this please share any feedback you have.

There is a related Furuno Forum thread but I'm not allowed to post the linky. It's in the TZ Touch forum titled "TZT9 with dual sounders".

Last edited by MarMax; 11-23-2017 at 11:29 AM. Reason: Added link to Furuno Forum
MarMax is offline  
Old 11-24-2017, 02:51 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: dallas georgia
Posts: 148
Default

We run a DFF1UHD with the DFF-3D and TZ2. But You cannot use the triple beam of the DFF-3D and the 265C-LH at the same time.
We have a MFD 12 and TZ2 but we have not tried to run the 3D sonar on the TZ while running the 265C-LH on other screen.
I may need to give that a try .
Attached Images  
jugislandrelic is offline  
Old 11-24-2017, 03:36 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 28
Default

Originally Posted by jugislandrelic View Post
We have a MFD 12 and TZ2 but we have not tried to run the 3D sonar on the TZ while running the 265C-LH on other screen.
I may need to give that a try .
Thanks for the reply. If you look at what Furuno said below in a response to one of my questions, I don't think the TZ2 and MFD will work together. Just the TZT and MFD. Here are three Furuno responses:

R1
You can't have the DFF3D on the NN3D system AT ALL. They are not compatible. If you run a mixed system, you always have to follow the most restrictive rule of both systems. In this case you are talking about a mixed NN3D and TZT system. Most of the rules will be that of the NN3D which is not compatible with the DFF3D sounder. You can NOT mix TZT2 and the NN3D. Only the TZT (first series) will work with the NN3D with restrictions.

R2
Having the DFF3D on a NN3D network is unsupported and you might get problems. The DFF3D sounder is only for the TZT and TZT2 systems.

Here is where I asked if you could hurt anything by connecting the DFF3D to the HUB101 with the MFD8 and TZT9.

R3
I don't think you will really damage anything. Because the NN3D doesn't support the sounder, you will be coloring outside the lines. For example, I know for a fact that if you connect the new X radars designed for the TZT and TZT2 systems into a NN3D network it will cause all kinds of havoc. Maybe you can get by with it, maybe you will get crazy software things pop up here and there, or it might just go nuts. Never tried it because it isn't supported. Best case maybe select the DFF3D sounder on the TZT and the DFF1 on the NN3D and cross your fingers. Let us know how your experiment goes. Although not officially supported maybe it will work out.

I'd still like to know if anyone with a TZ Touch and MFD that are networked together has tried connecting a DFF3D to the hub. And if so, what happened.
MarMax is offline  
Old 11-24-2017, 06:08 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 674
Default

I am running the TZT 12 and a NN3D BB with a DFF1 and a DFF3D on the same network. All works good. Just installed it a month ago. I went fishing t about 200ft of water and the DFF3D center beam was acting up with too much interference. I am thinking that I need to stop transmission on the DFF1. I have not tried that out yet. But in shallow water both work without a problem.

There is no problems with the NN3 at alll. It works without a hitch.

Furuno did recommend it and they helped me set it up
pablor is offline  
Old 11-25-2017, 09:28 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 28
Default

Thank you for the reply pablor. Hearing that a NN3D and TZT combined network with both a DFF1 and DFF3D working is fantastic. Are you set up per the Furuno recommended NN3D as the boss (master) and with the TZT connected to power and ethernet only? Do you have the HUB101 in your system? Also, what are you other network components (radar, gps, heading sensor, autopilot, etc.)? Thank you!
MarMax is offline  
Old 11-25-2017, 10:11 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 674
Default

Originally Posted by MarMax View Post
Thank you for the reply pablor. Hearing that a NN3D and TZT combined network with both a DFF1 and DFF3D working is fantastic. Are you set up per the Furuno recommended NN3D as the boss (master) and with the TZT connected to power and ethernet only? Do you have the HUB101 in your system? Also, what are you other network components (radar, gps, heading sensor, autopilot, etc.)? Thank you!
Yes I am. With respect to charts, you have to call furuno and give them the ID of your NN3D and they will give you unlock codes for the TZT.

I have the following

NN3D BB
DFF1UHD
Airmar chirp 275LM
DRS24 6 ft radar
GPS
TZT12
DFF3D
Simrad auto pilot
Hub101
Weather module

All works across this hybrid system setup. If I remember correctly, you cannot set up a hybrid system between the TZT2 and the NN3D. Bad stuff happens.

Hope this helps

Hope this helps
pablor is offline  
Old 11-25-2017, 11:32 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 28
Default

pablor,

You have made my day, week and month. It looks like I'll be able to set up the TZT9 exactly as planned and leave the MFD8 in the dash "as-is". I'll mount the TZT9 with the tabletop bracket and connect up power and ethernet. I have a Maretron SSC200 heading sensor on the N2K network to support the radar overlay functions and it should also satisfy the TZT heading sensor requirement until I get around to the 3D and autopilot.

I won't pick up the DFF3D until January, but will report back with any interference issues between the DFF1 and DFF3D once it's running. My DFF1 transducer is a B117, so nothing fancy, but it does a nice job. I'm looking forward to running both sounders full screen side by side. At the same time I'll pick up the Navpilot711C and replace the SSC200 with the PG700.

You seem really happy with your hybrid network which means you don't feel you've lost any TZT functionality by having the NN3D BB running the show. Thanks again
MarMax is offline  
Old 11-26-2017, 07:27 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 674
Default

Aside from having to learn two ways of doing the same function, it all works perfectly...sometimes it gets confusing as the furuno systems have many many functions and each system is very different from each other. The TZT does not have NMEA0183 so you need to keep the NN3D for VHF radio GPS.

You can also connect your fusion or engine data through NMEA2K into your TZT that cannot be connected to your NN3D
pablor is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.