Notices

Thoughts on Garmin GT15M-IH transducer

Old 11-22-2017, 05:54 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC / Cobbs Creek, V.A.
Posts: 365
Default Thoughts on Garmin GT15M-IH transducer

I am contemplating adding another transducer to my boat as the one I have is for my older 3210 unit. I also have a 741xs and would like to add a transducer to that. I was looking at the Garmin GT15M-IH in hull unit thinking it would be a nice easy install and I wouldn't have to drill another hole in the bottom of my boat.

https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/530269

Does anyone have any experience with this transducer and its performance? The boat is my albemarle 27 inboard, and its got a thick solid fiberglass hull (~1'' or so on the bottom).

Any opinions or recommendations would be appreciated.
k5robnp is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 07:10 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lake Lanier
Posts: 944
Default

I had one installed in my bass boat. i got excellent readings up to about 70 mph. I can't comment on your hull thickness though. Obviously cutting a hole in the bottom of my boat was not an option.
TroyBoy30 is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 07:18 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,729
Default






That is a very good unit....best used under 500'....and over 3/4" hull thickens...that would possibly reduce depth capability...as it may attenuate the signal some.

Also look at the Airmar M422C-LH.. available in a Garmin 8 pin plug.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 11-22-2017 at 09:37 AM.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 02-20-2019, 10:26 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC / Cobbs Creek, V.A.
Posts: 365
Default

Wanted to re-open this topic, once again looking for a transducer to go into my 741 xs. Is the garmin in hull still a good option? I dont want to drill any more through hulls but open to any other options. I also need a water temp sensor somehow as my old one is 10 degrees off for whatever reason
k5robnp is offline  
Old 02-21-2019, 04:33 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 717
Default

Originally Posted by k5robnp View Post
Wanted to re-open this topic, once again looking for a transducer to go into my 741 xs. Is the garmin in hull still a good option? I dont want to drill any more through hulls but open to any other options. I also need a water temp sensor somehow as my old one is 10 degrees off for whatever reason
I use the GT15M-IH with a 741xs/840xs, to go along with my pair of GT30TM's ...the GT15 works fine as a back up sonar; I use my Furuno 628/ thru hull TX for my main fish-finding capability....
jmacari is offline  
Old 02-21-2019, 05:16 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC / Cobbs Creek, V.A.
Posts: 365
Default

Thanks for the feedback. This unit will be my backup sonar, as of now I only have one through hull transducer
k5robnp is offline  
Old 02-21-2019, 06:52 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC / Cobbs Creek, V.A.
Posts: 365
Default

I guess this seems to be a great option to do what I am looking to do:

https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/614254#accessories

I would just need an extension cable I believe to get from my transom to electronics box
k5robnp is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread