Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

using video input for tuna tower display

Notices

using video input for tuna tower display

Old 11-22-2017, 05:12 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Morehead City, NC
Posts: 259
Default using video input for tuna tower display

I have been looking over various options for a network display to put in the upper helm/tower. I really like the Furuno TZtouch2 units for the main lower helm but Furuno does not give you much of a choice for a inexpensive unit for a second helm install. The idea of dropping another 2300 bucks for it is not happening right now. Then I noticed that the Furuno's had a video output. Why not use any brand display that has a video input as the tower unit? If you simply put the lower unit on split GPS/Bottom screen before you went up. You would have the basic screen info you needed to run the boat from above. You would also have the GPS that is built into the upper unit you could use if wanted. The drawback I see is that you would have no control over the lower electronics, you would just be looking at a live video feed. There are Hummingbird, Garmin and Lowrance units that would work and keep the price under 800 bucks. Lots of options to use a second hand unit also.

To those of you with a upper tower, how much do you use your electronics up there? Of course I would really love another TZtouch2 display in the tower but it seems like overkill. I could always change my mind later but for now this could be a cheap way to put "something" up there.
bucksh0t is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 05:38 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 649
Default

Why not gen an iPad and run the furuno app to run the unit down at the helm? That way you have full control and you spend nothing!

Just take it with you with a water proof case and bring it down when you are done
pablor is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 07:43 AM
  #3  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 39
Default

I'm going through the exact same dilemma for a new build...I've determined the following:

1. I can't justify putting a TZT9 or TZT212 in the tower for $3-$4k just to network to the dual TZT2 12s at the helm (same as OP).
2. After research, and testing it for myself, I don't believe WIFI with an Ipad or mobile phone is a viable option, mainly due to the inability to see the screen on sunny days.
3. A different brand of cheap plotter, with bathymetry for depth, would suffice for the limited use the tower gets. This would significantly reduce the cost (~$400ish vs ~$2800). I'd use a remote for autopilot and Bluetooth for stereo control. Not a deal breaker, but what I don't know is whether I can utilize the NMEA network for engine data and stereo if I chose a Garmin chart plotter in the tower and Furuno TZT212s at the helm?
4. I guess I could add a $600 FI70 instrument display as well? But now the $ is creeping back up to half the $ of a single TZT212...why not just throw another $1k in and have it all
5. NEW...I'm very interested in this video option. I'm OK with mirroring the helm display...I didn't think this was an option without using a Furuno unit ($) or WIFI capability (poor visibility in sunlight)

In all likelihood I'll go with a 7" or 9" Garmin unit in the tower, solely utilizing the charplotter for navigation. The rest of the electronics will be Furuno.
Contrail is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 07:54 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Morehead City, NC
Posts: 259
Default

I figured I wasn't the only one with this Dilemma, once I get in the boat home I will probably get the lower Electronics installed and find a used unit that I can just try out on the upper helm
bucksh0t is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 04:47 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Captains Cove, VA
Posts: 790
Default

Just thinking out loud...

Run the helm split on sounder and radar, use a cheaper gps with video-in in the tower. Use video to see sounder radar and have a full gps in your plotter
Airslot is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread