Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Optimal Settings for Simrad Total scan Transducer

Notices
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Moonlighter475
  • 1 Post By MadWill

Optimal Settings for Simrad Total scan Transducer

Old 11-21-2017, 09:30 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 35
Default Optimal Settings for Simrad Total scan Transducer

Hello guys, I just installed a simrad go7xse with a total scan transducer on my boat and I was wondering if anyone has recommended settings for the structure scan.

I fish mostly 8-40 feet of water and the clarity of it while fishing today did not seem optimal.

The transducer is in the best location on my boat in my opinion and I get good depth readings and it records at up to 40 mph so that's not an issue but when fishing, I feel like I could have a better picture.

Was just wondering if Yall would post your settings for the transducer on your vessels.

Thanks and happy holidays!!!
JohnRuck1985 is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 01:52 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,140
Default

Originally Posted by JohnRuck1985 View Post
Hello guys, I just installed a simrad go7xse with a total scan transducer on my boat and I was wondering if anyone has recommended settings for the structure scan.

I fish mostly 8-40 feet of water and the clarity of it while fishing today did not seem optimal.

The transducer is in the best location on my boat in my opinion and I get good depth readings and it records at up to 40 mph so that's not an issue but when fishing, I feel like I could have a better picture.

Was just wondering if Yall would post your settings for the transducer on your vessels.

Thanks and happy holidays!!!
I think it would be better for you to post screenshots of what images you are getting and what settings you have your unit on.
InternationalMarineBrian is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 09:31 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 35
Default

These are my current settings for echo
Attached Images     
JohnRuck1985 is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 09:32 PM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 35
Default

These are my settings for Structure Scan
Attached Images   
JohnRuck1985 is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 09:42 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1
Default

so interesting
ednavail is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 10:15 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,534
Default

For normal sonar, IMO you would be better off running 200khz rather than 800.
Moonlighter475 is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 10:24 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Posts: 145
Default

agree with moonlighter - normal echo use 200khz
Sidescan / downscan - travel max at 5 - 6 mph - use either 455 or 800khz, leave all defaults except 1. palette (I like the blue one) and 2. range - rule of thumb = 3 x depth on manual setting.
MadWill is offline  
Old 11-25-2017, 11:04 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,065
Default

You probably need to reduce the +7 on the autogain, you might be getting a lot of noise.

Also use high chirp
JoseG is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread