Notices
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Moonlighter475

SIMRAD GO7 question

Old 11-20-2017, 01:31 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 83
Default SIMRAD GO7 question

Guys
I noticed when my boat is out of the water and on the trailer my depth is saying 8ft but my total scan transducer is only 23 inches from the ground, is there something wrong ? or is this normal when out of the water ?


mac.
mac73 is offline  
Old 11-20-2017, 01:37 PM
  #2  
Senior Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 303
Default

Transducer works when in water. Kinda like when your wife has a sonargram and they put that jelly on the probe to get rid of air between the sound and the belly. If you know what I mean?
mike@BOEmarine is offline  
Old 11-20-2017, 01:37 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,144
Default

The transducer is designed to be run in the water. What does it read in the water?
InternationalMarineBrian is offline  
Old 11-20-2017, 01:38 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,741
Default

The 8 ft may have been the last sounding it recorded while it was still in the water. sonar doesn't work in air, only in water. Sound travels 3 times as fast in water as it does in air. Turn your sonar off or disconnect your transducer when the boat is hauled to prevent the transducer from overheating and failing.
Amity83 is offline  
Old 11-20-2017, 01:41 PM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 83
Default

ok thanks.

I had to check my Navionics card so I turned on the unit for a minute and noticed it.

thanks again.


mac.
mac73 is offline  
Old 11-20-2017, 05:53 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,545
Default

Originally Posted by mac73 View Post
ok thanks.

I had to check my Navionics card so I turned on the unit for a minute and noticed it.

thanks again.


mac.
When runnng unit out of water for more than a minute or so, best to turn the sonar off. Its vrey easy, on the sonar page on the menu on the right hand side, scroll down and select “stop sonar” and this stops the transducer from transmitting.
CaptLuke likes this.
Moonlighter475 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread