Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Raymarine Dragonfly 5 In Hull Transducer.

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine Dragonfly 5 In Hull Transducer.

Old 11-19-2017, 07:22 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 47
Default Raymarine Dragonfly 5 In Hull Transducer.

I believe that this unit comes with an external skimmer transducer as standard. I read that a "Thru Hull" transducer can be purchased separately.
Now, I would like to mount this transducer in an existing "in hull wet box".
I think that an proper "In Hull" transducer is not available.
I have been told that it is not recommended to do this by a Raymarine seller, and that I can not use my existing transducer with is connected to a Furuno FCV 668. I think the existing transducer is a 50/200 kHz Airmate.
Now, I know that wet box installations work with other sounders as I have done this for years and maximum depth will be no more than 60 meters.

Cheers
Danf is offline  
Old 11-20-2017, 01:02 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,741
Default

CPT-70 is the plastic through hull
CPT-80 is the bronze through hull

Both have a fairing block.

you are correct that there is no in-hull version

The Dragonfly sounder is relatively low power so you may not like the performance hit you will take by in-hull mounting. If you were going to try it, try it by epoxying the transom mount(its much cheaper and the elements are the same) and making sure there are no bubbles in the epoxy.
Amity83 is offline  
Old 11-20-2017, 07:16 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 47
Default

Thanks
Danf is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 04:40 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 106
Default

In my old maycraft, I used 5200 to glue down the dragonfly TM transducer and it worked great here in the Chesapeake. That's up to about 120 ft, and I never lost bottom with it. I was using a dragonfly 7, but same transducer as yours. The one thing I did do was to make a tiny divot for the temp button, as it sticks down a little past the bottom of the transducer. The reason I chose to try 5200 as opposed to epoxy is that if you look at the bottom of the dragonfly transducer, it's rubber, and I didn't think that the epoxy would stick. I didn't have it in a tank, either. Just be very careful to smash out any air bubbles.
MDedgewater is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread