Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Evo2 lag - almost unuseable

Old 11-19-2017, 05:54 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 308
Default Evo2 lag - almost unuseable

Have an Evo2 16 with latest software - lately while using it is lagging so bad it is barely usable. Anyone have any ideas on how to diagnose this and or fix? Was thinking maybe it had to do with the number of tracks I have? I love having all my tracks shown and recorded, but can't continue to have this machine work like this.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by kublid; 11-19-2017 at 06:17 PM. Reason: .
kublid is offline  
Old 11-19-2017, 06:21 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nokomis, Florida
Posts: 1,228
Default

To confirm it is the tracks causing an issue, backup your tracks to card, delete the tracks on your MFD and test again.

I once though I saw an issue with evo1 and a relatively big collection of waypoints, over 4,000, but could never confirm. My evo2s are great, fast and appear to be solid.

Maybe Abbor could offer some suggestions.
nfairbank is offline  
Old 11-19-2017, 06:23 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 308
Default

Good suggestion - I'll try that out.


Originally Posted by nfairbank View Post
To confirm it is the tracks causing an issue, backup your tracks to card, delete the tracks on your MFD and test again.

I once though I saw an issue with evo1 and a relatively big collection of waypoints, over 4,000, but could never confirm. My evo2s are great, fast and appear to be solid.

Maybe Abbor could offer some suggestions.
kublid is offline  
Old 11-20-2017, 04:08 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,318
Default

I perhaps inaccurately seem to recall someone posting a similar issue until he/she deleted the files for previous update versions. Maybe someone else can chime in regarding a similar experience?
TTaxi is offline  
Old 11-20-2017, 04:13 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,345
Default

Even first generation NSS could handle 4000 waypoints without any issues. I have 5500 in my Evo2.

I know HDS Gen1 and Gen2 can become slow if they don't have sufficient free memory.

So delete sonar ligw and screen shots not needed. It's probably also a good idea to limit the number of displayed tracks.

Performing a full HW reset is probably a good idea, remember to backup user data first.
abbor is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 09:58 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 204
Default

Is this the new update just released? looks like a new one just came out in the last few days.

http://www.simrad-yachting.com/en-NZ...ads/NSS-evo-2/
Rusty007 is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 10:00 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 308
Default ..

It is NOT the newest update, but thanks for the heads up. I'll update to this one and see if that may help.

Originally Posted by Rusty007 View Post
Is this the new update just released? looks like a new one just came out in the last few days.

http://www.simrad-yachting.com/en-NZ...ads/NSS-evo-2/
kublid is offline  
Old 11-22-2017, 03:35 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,708
Default

Mine is lagging bad after the last update. I'm thinking it is a problem with tracks- too many in the same place at the same time, that is the last few miles on the way in to the marina.

I plan to put them all on my second screen and start fresh with my main screen that I use to see if that works.
Akgoff4 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread