Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

plotter with more track points

Old 11-18-2017, 02:49 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 37
Default plotter with more track points

I need a chartplotter with big memory to save the track I do every time I go fishing, In that way I can save time avoyding areas where I had been previously. Can you tell me some names?
toniportocolom is offline  
Old 11-18-2017, 04:06 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,294
Default

What do you have now?

Rather than spend for a new chartplotter, can you just adjust track settings to a larger track point interval by time or distance so as to greatly delay maxing out track memory and overwriting ? And does your device allow saving completed tracks to separate memory file and starting each trip with new-start track to avoid over-writing?

That said, my Simrad Evo2 s automatically saves every trip track of seemingly all lengths until I clean out the all the undesired track archives to remove all the clutter. I'd expect most good current chartplotters may be similar in that respect.
TTaxi is offline  
Old 11-19-2017, 03:09 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Lucinda, North Queensland
Posts: 130
Default

Originally Posted by TTaxi View Post
What do you have now?

Rather than spend for a new chartplotter, can you just adjust track settings to a larger track point interval by time or distance so as to greatly delay maxing out track memory and overwriting ? And does your device allow saving completed tracks to separate memory file and starting each trip with new-start track to avoid over-writing?
Any hints on how to do this? Currently have a HDS Gen1 & 2 networked and I'm finding the tracks are being over written way too frequently, like 3-4 month old tracks are now dissapearing

Every year I backup Waypoints/Routes/Tracks to an SD card and save them to computer, then delete them off the HDS. I do keep the previous years tracks, but its getting frustrating not showing tracks from only a few months previous, not sure why but the HDS seems to have run out of memory.
ShaunQ is offline  
Old 11-19-2017, 03:17 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,324
Default

You need to start a new track when the current track has reached about 20k points, I think the max size is 23-24k and then it will start to over-write.

You can display several tracks at the same time. You can control which tracks to be displayed. For Gen1 you should limit the number of tracks stored in the internal memory because filling up the memory will slow down the unit.
abbor is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread