Notices

HDS provide dual zone with 4 g

Old 11-18-2017, 01:39 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: marysville, ca
Posts: 53
Default HDS provide dual zone with 4 g

I am thinking of getting a second unit for a stand alone radar and back up GPS. I was thinking of a HDS9 touch in either a gen 2 or 3but cannot confirm if it has the capability to provide dual zone (range) when hooked to a 4g radar. Any help would be appreciated.
arcticjoe is offline  
Old 11-18-2017, 01:50 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,027
Default

You need a Simrad to get dual range radar. One of the ranges can be displayed at a HDS, the other on the Simrad, or of course both at the Simrad. NSS Evo2, Evo3, GO7 XSR, GO9 XSE and GO12 XSE support dual range.
abbor is offline  
Old 11-19-2017, 08:14 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: marysville, ca
Posts: 53
Default hds

Thanks for the info, guess I'll scrap that plan and start looking for a simrad
arcticjoe is offline  
Old 11-19-2017, 08:21 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,730
Default

Originally Posted by arcticjoe View Post
Thanks for the info, guess I'll scrap that plan and start looking for a simrad
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 11-19-2017, 08:45 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,027
Default

A NSS Evo2 or Evo3 will interface with HDS if this is what you currently have.
abbor is offline  
Old 11-19-2017, 05:32 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: marysville, ca
Posts: 53
Default hds

I have a nss 12 touch with sonar hub and will be installing a 4g. With all the deals on hds right now I thought I might try one of those for a stand alone radar and dual zone but I guess its a simrad or B&G.
arcticjoe is offline  
Old 11-20-2017, 11:09 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,027
Default

First generation NSS?
abbor is offline  
Old 11-20-2017, 04:23 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: marysville, ca
Posts: 53
Default hds

Yes
arcticjoe is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread