The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-12-2017, 04:07 PM   #1
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 980
Default Lowrance Transducer help and Recommendations

Put a Lowrance HDS 9” Gen 3 on my 24’ Spectre and can’t get the sounder to work at anything over 5 MPH. Found a few new oyster bars this week running the bay without a depth finder.
I fish Apalachicola Bay 0-20’ depth and the local Carrabelle/Franklin reefs for Grouper/Red Snapper 70-100’ depth.

• Boat is a pad bottom and have tried quite a few skimmer transducer mounting locations.
• Moved the structure scan to the other side of the boat.
• Raised and lowered and tipped and tilted the skimmer. No luck.
• Put the skimmer where the Structure scan was located. No luck.
Ready to upgrade to a thru hull but don’t know where to mount it and what transducer to buy. They get a bit pricy so would like to make sure this works before I cut a hole in the bottom.
Recommendations???
Attached Images
  
duke460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 09:01 PM   #2
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Anclote (Tarpon Spgs), Florida
Posts: 300
Default

I'm no expert on this, only mounted one of those. But I would install it at the arrow in this markup:
Attached Images
 
GaryDoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 04:55 AM   #3
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 980
Default

Thats where I have the skimmer right now. Can't make it work there. Internally there is a stringer right there so any thru hull would have to be on one flat surfaces.
duke460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 05:09 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 7
Default

On my Elite 7, mine quit working at speed after I changed the transducer. If you dig through the menus (installation I think) there is a menu where you can tell it which transducer you have. The transducer itself will have a number on it. Mine also sometimes will quit reading when it’s rough and I’m getting bubbles under the boat. Mind you I have an aluminum semi V and not a glass V bottom.
ArlenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 05:59 AM   #5
Admirals Club
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 5,212
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

turn your structure scan around, get rid of the bracket and screw it right to the bottom of the pad. Then go into your settings and reverse left for right. I use the thru hull structure scan in the same location and it holds at any speed.
Amity83 likes this.
manitunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 08:59 AM   #6
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 980
Default

I think I going for a thru hull. Any recommendations and what transducer.???
duke460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 09:04 AM   #7
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CA & San Carlos, Mx
Posts: 19,341
Default

The problem is that you put it right next to a strake that will distort and carry bubbles to it. It need sto be centered in between the stakes to lessen interference.
Amity83 likes this.
Bullshipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 12:57 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 57
Default

That looks like the TotalScan Transducer. If so, they are very picky about placement and have to be almost perfect to work at higher speed. The post with the red arrow would be the correct placement. For height you will want it a little lower than what Lowrance recommends. The horizontal seam on the side of the transducer should be level or just below the boat bottom.

It helps to install on a piece of starboard and have the starboard cut a little short of the btm of the boat. This allows the water to come up right after the boat bottom and contact the transducer. Helpful, but not necessary.
Starplex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 01:10 PM   #9
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 980
Default

Agree I will mount a piece of starboard. Moved the structure scan so will move it down there and away from the strake. If I go up I get splash from the trim tabs.
duke460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 01:26 PM   #10
Admirals Club
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 5,212
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I used the LSS2 through hull. Dont know if they make the same in totalscan, but mount the way I said, and it does the same thing.
manitunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 01:36 PM   #11
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nokomis, Florida
Posts: 975
Default

Use a P79. To figure out the best placement, put it in a plastic bag full of water and move it around the inside of the boat to find the best location.

The P79 transducer is great and I have used it in my past several boats including those with a pad.
nfairbank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 03:03 PM   #12
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Anclote (Tarpon Spgs), Florida
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duke460 View Post
Agree I will mount a piece of starboard. Moved the structure scan so will move it down there and away from the strake. If I go up I get splash from the trim tabs.
It has become obvious that the two photos you posted do NOT show the current boat. Please post some that show the trim tabs and anything else missing from the first photo if that is indeed the same boat.
GaryDoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 09:32 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
Default

I recently mounted my totalscan on the starboard side. What I’ve read is you don’t want to
Mount it on the port side do to the rotation of the prop. I built a bracket off my motor mount so I wouldn’t have to drill any holes. I took it out on the lake Monday, worked great and kept depth at high speeds. I will try to upload pics.
gaironman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 09:35 PM   #14
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 980
Default

Photos are the same boat. Tabs did not show up very well. Only add was the underwater lights.
duke460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 09:52 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
Default

You are not allowed to post URLs until you have at least 10 posts

I'm a new member so I can't upload a photo, but if you go on my page I uploaded some pics to a thread I started a couple days ago. Go take a look. Hope this helps.
gaironman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 03:47 AM   #16
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Anclote (Tarpon Spgs), Florida
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duke460 View Post
Photos are the same boat. Tabs did not show up very well. Only add was the underwater lights.
There are no transducers in the first photo. It also does not show the tabs at all.
GaryDoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 05:02 AM   #17
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 980
Default

Gary, apologize for poor photos, will go get a few more. I shot the left side to show the various steps in the hull. Trim tab is by the trailer bunk. Look closely and you will see the structure scan on the right side of the photo. I mounted the total scan Transducer above the strake where the red arrow. By reading this it was a poor location and probably causing my problems with air bubbles. There is just not enough flat space to mount everything. Going to pull the skimmer and go to a thru hull. Just need to pick one out.
duke460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 05:38 AM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
Default

The LSS2 will give you side imaging and down imaging it will not give you 3D it will not give you 2D sonar. The totalscan will give you 2D sonar chirp sonar and your side and down imaging but will not do 3D but you would not need the 83/200.
gaironman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 11:07 AM   #19
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 1,055
Default

I have a LSS2 and a TH150M Chirp.
I mounted my LSS2 above the bottom of the transom on my jack plate and only use it at slow speeds. This gives excellent returns.
The Th150M is mounted starboard of the engine and out of the prop wash and on a flat portion of the transom , nothing around it that would cause turbulence. The TH150M is pitched downward about 9 degrees and and the leading edge is just below the transom maybe about 1/8 inch. I get excellent returns at my top speed about 38mph.
The Stren Mate puts the transducer further away from the transom into cleaner water.
Sorry that these are sideways but you get the idea.
Name:  IMG_4363.JPG
Views: 105
Size:  113.3 KB
Name:  IMG_4366.JPG
Views: 104
Size:  85.4 KB

Last edited by marlinpruett; 11-15-2017 at 11:20 AM.
marlinpruett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 11:05 AM   #20
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 1,055
Default

Mine is sorta like the "good" view.
Name:  transom mounted transducer (2015_12_29 14_00_32 UTC).jpg
Views: 83
Size:  43.4 KB
marlinpruett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04 AM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.