Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

EGT and boost data on NMEA 2000

Old 10-28-2017, 03:01 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pasadena, Md
Posts: 1,667
Likes: 0
Received 227 Likes on 88 Posts
Default EGT and boost data on NMEA 2000

I'm trying to get EGT and Boost on a NMEA 2000 network then display it on a Garmin 7610. Any idea how to make this happen?
Old 10-28-2017, 04:48 PM
  #2  
pas
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 2,148
Received 198 Likes on 121 Posts
Default

Yes I did it for my Yanmar 6LP’s using Maretron sensors. What engine(s) do you have?

You need an EGT probe there should be a plug for one on the turbo outlet housing.
A pressure sensor and a place to install it on the intake manifold.
From Maretron an FPM100, and a TMP100, and one of their DSM gauges to do the setup or a laptop and NMEA interface using the Maretron software (much easier).

Once you do all that it will show up automatically on the Garmin.
Old 10-28-2017, 08:41 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 586
Likes: 0
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Some engines provide at least part of that data on their J1939 bus. A converter will make it available on N2K. I get engine temp, boost pressure, rpm, voltage, and oil pressure via J1939 through a Maretron J2K100. Then EGT via a temp probe and TMP100 as described previously.
Old 10-29-2017, 12:19 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,831
Likes: 0
Received 99 Likes on 62 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CoastalRunner View Post
I'm trying to get EGT and Boost on a NMEA 2000 network then display it on a Garmin 7610. Any idea how to make this happen?
There are different answers to your question depending upon which engines and instrument displays you have now.

If you have electronically controlled engines such as the Cummins QSB or Volvo D4 or D6 and already have an EGT sensor, you just need a NMEA 2000 bridge cable from your engine displays. That will be relatively inexpensive, perhaps $200-300 for the cable if you shop around and you will see the other engine parameters on the Garmin too such as the oil pressure, fuel rate, coolant temnperature, load, etc.

With mechanical Diesel engines such as the older Cummins B series, you will need something like the Maretron analogue to NMEA2000 converter box and an EGT temperature sensor if you don't already have one as noted by the other posters. That will get fairly expensive especially if you pay to have someone else do the installation.

This is what you will see (on an 8617 display but layout is the same for 7610). I have other custom screens set up with EGT but no saved shots of those -- you can customize what is in each box. This was one I did quickly just to save speed, rpms, and fuel rate while testing new props. You can also have a data box on your plotter screen with real-time fuel economy, which is probably the single most useful feature of getting the engine data on your MFD.
Attached Images  
Old 10-29-2017, 10:50 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pasadena, Md
Posts: 1,667
Likes: 0
Received 227 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by pas View Post
Yes I did it for my Yanmar 6LP’s using Maretron sensors. What engine(s) do you have?

You need an EGT probe there should be a plug for one on the turbo outlet housing.
A pressure sensor and a place to install it on the intake manifold.
From Maretron an FPM100, and a TMP100, and one of their DSM gauges to do the setup or a laptop and NMEA interface using the Maretron software (much easier).

Once you do all that it will show up automatically on the Garmin.
Thank you, this is the exact engine setup this for my application.
Old 10-30-2017, 10:31 AM
  #6  
pas
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 2,148
Received 198 Likes on 121 Posts
Default

You might want to consider getting a second set of pressure sensors to install on the seawater intake side of the after cooler. That way you can always see that you have good water pressure and flow and also track the pressure over time to know when you need to clean the system.

Both the FPM and TMP can handle multiple sensors if you wanted to monitor more things on the boat.

If you need help let me know.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.