Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Transducer ID/Help

Old 10-24-2017, 10:51 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 139
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Transducer ID/Help

Can anyone help me identify this transducer that came with my new (used) boat? The boat is a 2008 Pathfinder 2400 Tournament Edition and was equipped with a non-functioning Northstar GPS/Sounder. I have since replaced it with a Simrad GO9XSE w/ TotalScan xducer.

I am going to leave the old transducer installed instead of messing with patching the hole. The cable is just coiled up in the bilge at the moment but I'm wondering if it is worth taking advantage of? I'm assuming there is no hope connecting it to the GO9 but perhaps a small backup GPS could take advantage of it?
Attached Images   
Old 10-24-2017, 11:15 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,586
Likes: 0
Received 1,477 Likes on 743 Posts
Default

Clean off the top of the transducer..you might have a part number.
Also..there may be a white tag at the end of the ducer's cable.
Looks similar in size to a B60.....


.
Old 10-24-2017, 11:28 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 139
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
Clean off the top of the transducer..you might have a part number.
Also..there may be a white tag at the end of the ducer's cable.
Looks similar in size to a B60.....


.
Thanks for the reply. I don't remember seeing a tag but I'll check again. Can't touch or see the top of the transducer w/o cutting a hole in the deck. It must have been installed before the cap went on at the factory.
That pic was taken blind with my arm way down in the bilge through the access hatch.
Old 10-25-2017, 03:43 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 75
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

work your way back from that connector, if it still has a tag it will normally be about 24 inches or so from the connector. That is the old NorthStar 10 pin that was used with their 490/491 blackbox that was paired to a 600i or 6100i. Alternative is measure the OD of the housing, if 2 inches it is a b117, if it is 2 3/8 it is a b60, and if it is 3.7 inches it is a b164
Old 10-26-2017, 07:13 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 139
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SeaSwirler View Post
work your way back from that connector, if it still has a tag it will normally be about 24 inches or so from the connector. That is the old NorthStar 10 pin that was used with their 490/491 blackbox that was paired to a 600i or 6100i. Alternative is measure the OD of the housing, if 2 inches it is a b117, if it is 2 3/8 it is a b60, and if it is 3.7 inches it is a b164
Yep that's exactly what was installed when I got the boat - a 491 w/ a 6000i. There is no way to reach the transducer to measure. The bilge pump is about 10-12" aft of the tranducer and I can BARELY reach it with my fingertips if I lay on my side with my shoulder in the access hatch Maybe I can tape a ruler to a stick and try taking a picture blind again. I'll figure it out.

Thanks for the help. Based purely on google image search I was guessing b117 before posting this thread. The real question is can I replace the end or get some sort of adapter that will allow it to work with a backup GPS/FF? Something small and possibly used - like an HDS5 or a small Garmin (not the current generation).
Old 10-26-2017, 07:44 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,741
Likes: 0
Received 51 Likes on 49 Posts
Default

You should be able to cut off the connector and splice in a new 9-pin version to use with a GO9. It certainly looks like a B60 to me. The B117 wouldn't have been installed in a v-hull and its definitely not as big as a B164.
Old 10-27-2017, 10:23 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,728
Likes: 0
Received 708 Likes on 563 Posts
Default

A HDS-5 will be a great choice to combine with the B60. Just cut off the current connector and splice in a 7-pin blue connector.

I'm still running HDS with B60 on one of my boats. I have loads of CHIRP transducer and sounders laying around, but for what I'm using the boat for I'm happy with HDS and B60.
Old 10-27-2017, 10:57 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 139
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Thanks for the replies everybody - that was exactly what I needed!
Old 03-11-2018, 08:24 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 139
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Bumping my old post with another question. I know that this has been discussed before on this forum but will I get interference running the B60 and Totalscan at the same time? My thoughts are B60 -> HDS7 and Totalscan -> GO9, using GO9 for chirp/structure scan and B60 for traditional 50/200khz. I would expect interference if they were both on the same frequency but what about in this particular example? My searches on the forum turned up conflicting info and also found a discussion about how even if a xducer is not set to 83/200khz it could still be pulsing at that frequency (and therefore still interfere with the B60). Is that the case with the TotalScan or am I overthinking this?

(BTW I haven't bought the HDS yet and the B60 cable is still just coiled up in the bilge. I'm trying to figure out if this is going to work the way I want before buying a display and fishing the xducer cable.)

Thanks in advance!
Old 03-11-2018, 09:37 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,728
Likes: 0
Received 708 Likes on 563 Posts
Default

If you run the two units at different frequencies they can be operated simultaneously. You can't run 200 kHz and High CHIRP (or 200kHz) simultaneously, but all other combinations should be fine.
Old 03-11-2018, 10:24 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 139
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
If you run the two units at different frequencies they can be operated simultaneously. You can't run 200 kHz and High CHIRP (or 200kHz) simultaneously, but all other combinations should be fine.
Thanks Abbor!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.