Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Moritz Control Options - Yellowfin, Spectre, etc

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Moritz Control Options - Yellowfin, Spectre, etc

Old 09-10-2017, 05:17 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 757 VB
Posts: 1,028
Received 52 Likes on 33 Posts
Default Moritz Control Options - Yellowfin, Spectre, etc

For those of us we the Moritz control system on our boats: what options have you all gone with? cZone? Manual switch panels?

When your system failed was it sudden or progressive?? Mine worked one day and the next nothing except overrides. No panel pad control or lights. Thought it would be progressive and not had any issues. Pad never gets wet is covered and carefully protected...

Need to find and get an option installed ASAP and like the idea of CZone integrated into my MFD along with their controller. HELP INTERNATIONAL MIKE
Old 10-23-2017, 03:48 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 757 VB
Posts: 1,028
Received 52 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

C ZONE COI is new and preferred - anyone install one of these yet? It would appear to VERY similar in terms of actual connections and design to the Moritz system including the number of circuits and even the types of connections. Need this info from anyone including CZONE....
Old 10-23-2017, 04:02 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 7,468
Received 2,959 Likes on 1,405 Posts
Default

There’s no “plug and play” option, if that’s what you’re looking for. CZone is a very nice system if you have a compatible MFD. You also have the option of adding dash switches to CZone. We have installed and upgraded many CZone systems and haven’t had any problems.

A new custom switch panel with built-in breaker Bocatech switches is your other option.

Where are you located?
Old 10-23-2017, 04:11 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 757 VB
Posts: 1,028
Received 52 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Located in Virginia Beach - so not close to you unfortunately...

Have you seen the cZone COI? That is brand new and surely looks and sounds very similar in all regards. Naturally not plug and play but not a clean sheet redo either.

I'm interested in doing a mix of the COI w/ 5" czone controller and bocatech switch panel for common switches with complete helm redo to move MFD's and items to upgrade or add items like replace a SC5000 with Vessel View 7. Can send pics if interested.
Old 10-23-2017, 10:52 AM
  #5  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 87
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by vyper340 View Post
Located in Virginia Beach - so not close to you unfortunately...

Have you seen the cZone COI? That is brand new and surely looks and sounds very similar in all regards. Naturally not plug and play but not a clean sheet redo either.

I'm interested in doing a mix of the COI w/ 5" czone controller and bocatech switch panel for common switches with complete helm redo to move MFD's and items to upgrade or add items like replace a SC5000 with Vessel View 7. Can send pics if interested.
Keep in mind you may need low voltage manual switches like a 5v if your running a cZone system not the standard 12v. If you have any questions a huge number of our dealers and my-self are here to help
Old 10-24-2017, 04:27 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 757 VB
Posts: 1,028
Received 52 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Good to know - so the 5v are the one needed for the cZone - do they make those in dual color and what do they run? Can they be labeled on the button or are they all unlabeled?
Old 10-24-2017, 10:05 AM
  #7  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 87
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by vyper340 View Post
Good to know - so the 5v are the one needed for the cZone - do they make those in dual color and what do they run? Can they be labeled on the button or are they all unlabeled?
From what i understand yes the cZone system requires the manual switches to be 5V but i could be wrong. I would suggest doing a little more research cause they could even be 3.3v.

Regardless we can get both in red ,blue and Bi-color. I would talk to one of marine shops that are more familiar with their systems and have them do the ordering for you.

We do not label or recommend engraving the switches. It compromises the IP rating.
Old 10-25-2017, 06:36 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 757 VB
Posts: 1,028
Received 52 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bocatech Sales View Post
From what i understand yes the cZone system requires the manual switches to be 5V but i could be wrong. I would suggest doing a little more research cause they could even be 3.3v.

Regardless we can get both in red ,blue and Bi-color. I would talk to one of marine shops that are more familiar with their systems and have them do the ordering for you.

We do not label or recommend engraving the switches. It compromises the IP rating.
Any thoughts on the amp requirement for the cZone since it is just sending a signal and not really handling any real power requirement? I was thinking the basic Bacatech 5A switch was all that is needed to be the "dummy" to send a signal to the cZone COI.
Old 10-25-2017, 06:45 AM
  #9  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 87
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by vyper340 View Post
Any thoughts on the amp requirement for the cZone since it is just sending a signal and not really handling any real power requirement? I was thinking the basic Bacatech 5A switch was all that is needed to be the "dummy" to send a signal to the cZone COI.
Yes a 5A switch would be plenty.It should only be milli-amps going to the switch.
Old 10-29-2017, 04:31 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

We do ton of Moritz redos and upgrades. There are a few options.

1. Install C-Zone of you would like to stick with Digital switching.

2. We can build a new switch panel and install that. We would remove the Moritz and use Bocatech switches. This makes for a very clean installation.

Mike
Old 11-02-2017, 05:48 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 757 VB
Posts: 1,028
Received 52 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Soooo. - I'm on the fence about the options.

What is the approximate amount of time/hours to covert from digital to analog and go with the switch method for a standard system like the 34-36 yellowfin with a 16 switch/circuit Moritz panel?

Just trying to get a rough idea to compare cost to the CZONE COI with 5" touchscreen and Raymarine MFD integration (may also want some switches for quick access items that signal the COI).
Old 11-02-2017, 05:50 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 757 VB
Posts: 1,028
Received 52 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

BTW - I've had two contractors out who are working on quotes but things have been slow and I want to get this project completed. I am a go and all ready on my end but finding a qualified and willing candidate is proving difficult in my area. Would love to get you up here for a day or two!!

I made a template with sizes for my project with layout and still open to ideas...
Old 11-06-2017, 03:22 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by vyper340 View Post
Soooo. - I'm on the fence about the options.

What is the approximate amount of time/hours to covert from digital to analog and go with the switch method for a standard system like the 34-36 yellowfin with a 16 switch/circuit Moritz panel?

Just trying to get a rough idea to compare cost to the CZONE COI with 5" touchscreen and Raymarine MFD integration (may also want some switches for quick access items that signal the COI).

Labor would be 12 hours to get it done right. This would be to remove and install the new panel.
Old 11-06-2017, 03:23 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by vyper340 View Post
BTW - I've had two contractors out who are working on quotes but things have been slow and I want to get this project completed. I am a go and all ready on my end but finding a qualified and willing candidate is proving difficult in my area. Would love to get you up here for a day or two!!

I made a template with sizes for my project with layout and still open to ideas...

Where are you located exactly?

Mike
Old 11-11-2017, 11:35 AM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 757 VB
Posts: 1,028
Received 52 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Virginia Beach, VA on Bay Island
Old 11-11-2017, 11:47 AM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Uggg thats a bit far. We can handle it but it needs to be somewhat close.

Mike
Old 11-16-2017, 06:20 AM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 757 VB
Posts: 1,028
Received 52 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

What is close?

Also - Can you do a dash cutout for me? I can do a template but looking for carbon fiber, backlit logo and cutouts for MFD and Vessel View 7 (templated) with nice round edges, etc. Let me know how I can get this project started, get the logo to you/someone, etc.
Old 11-16-2017, 06:22 AM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 757 VB
Posts: 1,028
Received 52 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by InternationalMarineMike View Post
We do ton of Moritz redos and upgrades. There are a few options.

1. Install C-Zone of you would like to stick with Digital switching.

2. We can build a new switch panel and install that. We would remove the Moritz and use Bocatech switches. This makes for a very clean installation.

Mike
So - turns out Yellowfin makes an option that uses the Moritz brain unit and simple bocatech switches to replace the failing Moritz switch panel (the weak link). Have you seen this????
Old 11-16-2017, 05:25 PM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by vyper340 View Post
So - turns out Yellowfin makes an option that uses the Moritz brain unit and simple bocatech switches to replace the failing Moritz switch panel (the weak link). Have you seen this????
You will be on borrowed time..... if you use the Bocatech switches you don’t need the Moritz brain unit. We throw them in the dumpster.
Old 11-18-2017, 04:29 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houma, LA
Posts: 493
Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by InternationalMarineMike View Post
You will be on borrowed time..... if you use the Bocatech switches you don’t need the Moritz brain unit. We throw them in the dumpster.
That's what I'd do. I have a 2015 installed CZone on my Yellowfin and hate it. I can't understand what's wrong with switches. It should not take me 2 or more button presses coupled with a spin of the rotary wheel to turn on the livewell or bilge pump. Run it through the GPS and it's even worse since you have to switch screens.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.