Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

HELP: B175HW and NSS EVO2

Old 09-04-2017, 09:59 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 123
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP: B175HW and NSS EVO2

I just recently put in a Simard EVO2 with the Airmar B175-HW, When I ordered the transducer from BOE marine back in April the transducer did not connect to the Simrad so I had to cut and splice the Navico pigtail. I have followed all the threads on here and all of the tables by Abbor but my transducer seems be getting worse and worse. At speed it reads bottom broken not a good solid readout and in any water depth over 70 ft, it basically marks nothing but bottom, and no detail at that. No baitfish, or fish at all. Could I have a bad transducer? I have the 20 degree mounted in a 27 Open Contender, there is nothing in front of the transducer.

Here is how I wired.
Lowrance Transducer
Red - Blue
Yellow - Orange
Black - Black
Bigger Bare(with red black) - Only bare wire
Smaller bare (w blue/yellow) - brown and the outer blue foil shield

Thanks,
Casey
Old 09-04-2017, 10:12 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

The wiring is correct. Is the transducer automatically recognized in the Echo installation menu?
Old 09-04-2017, 10:17 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 202
Received 49 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

I have followed the Abbor chart to hook up a pigtail as well. It needs to recognize the transducer automatically. The other caution is that certain wires can't run or touch with the wire next to it. You have to shield them from one another or it will give you some trouble.
Old 09-04-2017, 10:43 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 123
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
The wiring is correct. Is the transducer automatically recognized in the Echo installation menu?
Yes, the transducer is recognized, if I pull up the installation tab it lists B175hw. The temp works, it sees bottom, but it just does not mark any bait in the water or any fish on the bottom, I have adjust the gain, and it doesn't matter. It's like it has no power?
Old 09-04-2017, 10:55 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,882
Likes: 0
Received 1,694 Likes on 927 Posts
Default

And you are in the CHIRP mode?
If you can read bottom then the ducer is working.
Do you have any screen shots?

.
Old 09-04-2017, 11:10 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 123
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yes, I am in chirp mode. It doesn't even mark known ledges, I am fishing stuff I have fished a ton in the past and know that it has beeliners, pinkies, triggers on it and we are not marking a thing. We were anchored last weekend and the bite was wide open but it hardly marked anything. Is there anyway this transducer went bad? I am at a total loss, I spent 1200 to get this chirp and it is terrible, I even tried the 200, mode, and then I tried 150 hz, nothing helped. When I was running it could barely even read bottom. With my old 600 watt transducer I could mark bait and bottom spots and 40 mph, no chance at all with this.
Old 09-04-2017, 11:31 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

If you are searching for ledges you have bought wrong transducer, you need a narrow cone transducer for this.

Try 200 kHz fixed frequency.
Old 09-04-2017, 10:11 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 26
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I have had a B175HW installed for 7 months and it is fantastic. I can read the bottom at speed in my seafarer 228 up to 300-400 feet. I'm guessing something is not a 100%, because mine works perfectly. Good luck and let us know what you figure out..
Old 09-05-2017, 04:56 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 123
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I read on another thread that the transducer I bare and O bare, bot consist of a bare wire and a shield, my transducer only has 1 bare wire, and two shields. When I first connected this thing in April, I used the diagram that did no use pin 7, it did not recognize the transducer and i had to do an offset in my temperature range but it marked great. I even marked fish on the bottom in 500 ft, now I can not even mark the bottom itself in 500 ft. I was marking schools of blue runners, now while fishing it doesn't see anything except flat bottom if I'm over 85 ft of water or so. In 65 it marked perfect, bait, bottomfish, structure, everything. Is it possible that this transducer is not putting out the full power, something went out inside?
Old 09-05-2017, 05:53 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

Yes, of course it's possible the transducer is damaged.

You should check if you can find an installer or dealer in your area with the Airmar transducer tester.

http://www.airmar.com/productdescription.html?id=193

With this it's possible to run very comprehensive diagnostics
Old 09-10-2017, 11:54 AM
  #11  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 22
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Not to insult anyone's intelligence but did you measure the deadrise where the ducer is actually installed? I've seen folks put one in for 20 something degrees where the deadrise at the location is only 12 or something less.
i have the same ducer on a nss12 evo2 from boe. works great. i don't remember having to splice anything though
Old 09-10-2017, 12:05 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,228
Received 129 Likes on 79 Posts
Default

Im interested in what transducer I should be looking for with my evo 2 9. I bought the all in one chirp but it doesnt give me any good bottom relief on big ledges even. I mostly bottom fish in 100 to 400 feet of water.
Old 09-10-2017, 12:13 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

B175H will be the best alternative.
Old 09-11-2017, 06:57 AM
  #14  
Senior Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,482
Likes: 0
Received 32 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

For bottom fishing at those depths I agree with abbor on the B175H. This is a great transducer for what you are describing.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.