Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin GXM 53 Install question

Old 09-02-2017, 05:32 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Stillwater, MN and Naples, FL
Posts: 270
Received 67 Likes on 50 Posts
Default Garmin GXM 53 Install question

Of course I picked the holiday weekend to install the weather antenna, so it's tough to reach anyone at Garmin or the marina - but I'd like to get it in this weekend.

On the boat there are two stations, one a GPSMAP 7612, the other a GPSMAP 7607. There is an autopilot setup (Garmin GHP Reactor with Smart Pump) connected by NMEA and a Garmin GMR 24 xHD radar dome connected by ethernet. I believe the two chartplotters are connected by ethernet. As best I can trace everything, it seems to be connected as in the diagram below.

So my question - if I just connect the ethernet cable from the GXM 53 weather antenna to the open ethernet port on the 7607 will the weather data also show up on the 7612? Or do I need to get a GMS 10 ethernet hub and run a cable to both the 7607 and the 7612?

Appreciate any help or suggestions. Thanks much.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf
Old 09-02-2017, 05:40 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Schmaltz~Herring's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cruising Lake Titikacka On My 18' Bayliner~Soon Upgrading to a 45' SeaVee With Quint 450's
Posts: 18,118
Received 1,355 Likes on 688 Posts
Default

I have a 7612 & 7607 ethernet connected but use the 52, I would say try it. The Radar displays on both and it's only connected to the 7612 Ethernet port.
Old 09-02-2017, 05:43 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 364
Likes: 0
Received 73 Likes on 24 Posts
Default

I have a pair of 7612sxv connected by Ethernet similar to your setup. My GXM53 is connected to one of the 7612 and I can pull up separate weather data on each MFD. I don't think you will need an Ethernet hub.

Give it a go and report back.
Old 09-02-2017, 05:46 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Stillwater, MN and Naples, FL
Posts: 270
Received 67 Likes on 50 Posts
Default

Thanks! I'll give it a try this weekend.
Old 09-02-2017, 06:12 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,889
Likes: 0
Received 1,695 Likes on 928 Posts
Default

No hub required..just use the Network cable to share all info between the 7612 and the 7607.

.
Old 09-04-2017, 01:47 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Stillwater, MN and Naples, FL
Posts: 270
Received 67 Likes on 50 Posts
Default

Installed and working great! Thanks for the help!
Attached Images  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.