Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Drain wire Raymarine

Old 09-02-2017, 05:38 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St. Petersburg
Posts: 367
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Drain wire Raymarine

Installed a M132 thermal camera. I had to trim the power cord/wire down since it was so long. Now there is no "drain/shield" wire coming out of the cord. Do I just run the red+/black - or should I try to solder a wire on the mesh shield and connect it to the boat drain wire block?
Old 09-02-2017, 07:10 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 3,009
Likes: 0
Received 253 Likes on 206 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rltrbill View Post
I had to trim the power cord/wire down since it was so long. Now there is no "drain/shield" wire coming out of the cord.
Inspect the end portion of the original power cable that you cut off to discover what the manufacturer did in that portion of the power cable regarding where the drain-shield conductor was connected in the cable.
Old 09-03-2017, 03:34 PM
  #3  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,874
Received 214 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

It goes to either a proper bonding ground or the negative black power cable on your boat.
Old 09-03-2017, 08:24 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St. Petersburg
Posts: 367
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CME View Post
It goes to either a proper bonding ground or the negative black power cable on your boat.
I understand that part of it. My question is since I cut it, I dont see the wire anymore.... I just have it connected to the pos+(red) and ground-negative (black). Should I investigate on somehow adding a drain wire to the power cable? If so, do I somehow hook it to the metal mesh that goes around the red/black wires(they are wrapped in a black protective sleeve)
Old 09-03-2017, 10:30 PM
  #5  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,874
Received 214 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

If the camera operates without obvious signs of "noise" on the screen, I wouldn't worry about it. Being that it's not fused, the only thing that it's used for is limiting the emi that can introduce itself on the power cable. There are some boats with a ton of that noise and a drain is essential. Yours may not be one of them.

You could cut back far enough up the cable to investigate. You will either find a delegate drain wire run all the way to the camera, or a connection to the braid.
Old 09-04-2017, 08:50 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 3,009
Likes: 0
Received 253 Likes on 206 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rltrbill View Post
...do I somehow hook [a new drain wire] to the [braided shield] that goes around the red [and] black wires[?]
Yes; to "somehow hook" copper wires together there are two general methods:

--by contact with mechanical compression with another conductor, such as a butt splice or under a terminal post fastener, or

--by chemical bonds, such as heating the copper wires, fusing them together with molten tin-lead alloy solder, and cooling them.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.