Notices

Closed array and Anchor light?

Old 12-05-2003, 04:41 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 11,692
Default Closed array and Anchor light?

Ok here goes ....My Anchor light will be in front of my array .... will it hurt to mount it on top of the array with the power wire fastened to the outside ? we are talking RayMarine 2k 18"..John


Triton 2200CC, Honda BF200,
jtburf is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 05:03 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,759
Default Closed array and Anchor light?

JT- First, congrats on the new boat! Good luck and catch 'em up!

I think most of your concerns and questions will be answered if you read through this post from a week ago:

http://thehulltruth.com/6/ubb.x?a=tp...1&m=1116017705

I am assuming that the anchor light post can be loosened and folded down for trailering. If so, you just have to make sure that itis above the height of the dome and visible from 360 deg. so it is "legal". At most, you might need a longer pole and some extra wire spliced in for the additional height. I would not move the light from the factory position if it were me!

Have fun!

Wanna make someone mad... tell a lie! Wanna get the world upset... tell the TRUTH!
Big E is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 05:09 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 11,692
Default Closed array and Anchor light?

This is how I plan on mounting the dome

and if I simply attach the light to the top I can get by with a shorter post ...now it's on a 12" pivot mount ....Thanks John


Triton 2200CC, Honda BF200,
jtburf is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 08:51 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Default Closed array and Anchor light?

I think the light on the Radome will not look 'Nautical', not to mention the wire. As to which is higher, you cutting the rules to close. Here is my setup. I used ScanStrut.

Boston Whaler, "MUMBLER", 24' Outrage, twin 175 HP Evinrude Ocean Pros. Snowball, the cat...
Mumblerone is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 09:02 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default Closed array and Anchor light?

Another consideration would be trailering height. Tree limbs are a real pain.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 10:36 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 663
Default Closed array and Anchor light?

You can try one of these:

This ones made by Pro mounts.

Mumbler, I don't see your nav light...is it on the rear of the top?

Chris
In Too Deep is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 11:25 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Nor\'East - MA
Posts: 2,385
Default Closed array and Anchor light?

Here's what I did:


To the right side of the picture, centered on the roof, is my all-around light. It is a good foot above the highest point of the radar, so when up on plane or with "bow high" it can still be seen. It is the non-glare type that does not throw any glare down onto the deck and is on a fold-down mount (std VHF type) so it can lower to give me room, if needed, when going under a bridge. Plus it makes it easier to store the boat in the winter .

Here's a "How To" article on the custom radar mount that I made too, if interested: http://www.pilothouses.org/html/html...gallery_7.html

"Life's too short to own an ugly boat ..."
Reel-Rascals is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 12:00 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Arlington, Virginia, 1998
Posts: 4,371
Default Closed array and Anchor light?

Agree with what was said above, it would just look wrong, hear "Ghetto", mounted on the radar.

Mumblerone--Looks like you need to raise yours by at leat 6 inches.

Generally the lights are mounted centered or forward on the top so that when the boat is running bow high it can be seen.

Capt. Dan is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 06:03 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Default Closed array and Anchor light?

In to Deep...quote:Mumbler, I don't see your nav light...is it on the rear of the top?
It's in the back of the T-top (black). I'm sure it could be a little higher.

Boston Whaler, "MUMBLER", 24' Outrage, twin 175 HP Evinrude Ocean Pros. Snowball, the cat...
Mumblerone is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread