Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Configure Steadycast with 1040XS

Old 08-25-2017, 05:32 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 1,946
Received 427 Likes on 268 Posts
Default Configure Steadycast with 1040XS

Has anyone had success configuring the steadycast with your 1040? If so care to share? I see the problem being able to see the steadycast heading. I spent two hours today, but can't find a way to select a different source for heading. So I can't see it to configure it.
Old 08-28-2017, 06:04 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,022
Likes: 0
Received 57 Likes on 47 Posts
Default

I have went through basic calibration numerous times with no issues using the exact instructions below. Are you suggesting that you can't see your SteadyCast under NMEA 2000 devices? Otherwise, the reading from the SteadyCast heading will automatically be displayed on the 1040 when the MFD recognizes the SteadyCast.

Old 08-28-2017, 07:27 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 1,946
Received 427 Likes on 268 Posts
Default

I can see the Steadycast under the NEMA 2000 and it labels it as configured.

The problem is I can not see a heading to perform the basic calibration. Heading reported on the 1040 is from GPS and not the sensor. I have not found a way to change the source so I can follow the configuration directions. Maybe I am missing something but I have been through every menu and set up on my 1040. I do not believe it is seeing the heading from the Steadycast, as if I unplug it the heading remains the same. I have followed the directions several times and have yet to be able to a heading display as directed.
Old 08-28-2017, 07:34 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Apollo beach
Posts: 410
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=gundog61;10619112]I can see the Steadycast under the NEMA 2000 and it labels it as configured.

The problem is I can not see a heading to perform the basic calibration. Heading reported on the 1040 is from GPS and not the sensor. I have not found a way to change the source so I can follow the configuration directions. Maybe I am missing something but I have been through every menu and set up on my 1040. I do not believe it is seeing the heading from the Steadycast, as if I unplug it the heading remains the same. I have followed the directions several times and have yet to be able to a heading display as directed.[/QUOT



under settings, go to connected devises. than NMEA 2000, than steadycast. you should be able to perform calibration from there
Old 08-28-2017, 07:38 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 1,946
Received 427 Likes on 268 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=mp5475;10619143]
Originally Posted by gundog61 View Post
I can see the Steadycast under the NEMA 2000 and it labels it as configured.

The problem is I can not see a heading to perform the basic calibration. Heading reported on the 1040 is from GPS and not the sensor. I have not found a way to change the source so I can follow the configuration directions. Maybe I am missing something but I have been through every menu and set up on my 1040. I do not believe it is seeing the heading from the Steadycast, as if I unplug it the heading remains the same. I have followed the directions several times and have yet to be able to a heading display as directed.[/QUOT



under settings, go to connected devises. than NMEA 2000, than steadycast. you should be able to perform calibration from there
Yes it has an option for generic calibration, do not what to enter there, but you can not do on screen calibration on a 1040. 1040 does not support it
Old 08-28-2017, 09:57 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,022
Likes: 0
Received 57 Likes on 47 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=gundog61;10619162]
Originally Posted by mp5475 View Post

Yes it has an option for generic calibration, do not what to enter there, but you can not do on screen calibration on a 1040. 1040 does not support it
What do you have selected under Chart Menu, Chart Setup, Chart Appearance, Heading Line, Source? When in Auto mode, it should automatically pick up the SteadyCast as your heading source.
Old 08-28-2017, 10:31 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 1,946
Received 427 Likes on 268 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=Todd Driscoll;10619632]
Originally Posted by gundog61 View Post

What do you have selected under Chart Menu, Chart Setup, Chart Appearance, Heading Line, Source? When in Auto mode, it should automatically pick up the SteadyCast as your heading source.
That is what I am looking for...thank you. It will be several days before I get back to the boat, but now I have a place to start. I give an update...thanks again.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.