Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin 93SV to Standard Horizon VHF NMEA0183

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 93SV to Standard Horizon VHF NMEA0183

Old 08-23-2017, 08:43 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 690
Received 83 Likes on 46 Posts
Default Garmin 93SV to Standard Horizon VHF NMEA0183

I'm attempting to connect my Garmin 93SV to my Standard Horizon Quest 1255S VHF. The Garmin has 2 NMEA 0183 wires, a Blue for postive TX and a Brown for postive RX. The VHF has 2 NMEA 0183 Wires a Blue for postive RX and green for negative RX. The Garmin manual states the negative wire for the unit functions as the ground or negative for the nmea network. I connected the garmin blue to the vhf blue via UR connector. I connected the VHF green to the boat ground. I have the correct sentences turned on in the GPS. I have no position on the VHF. Any ideas?
Old 08-23-2017, 11:55 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,634
Received 1,690 Likes on 1,283 Posts
Default

in Settings > Communications > Serial Port 1
did you change "Garmin Std" to "NMEA Std"
Old 08-25-2017, 06:39 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 690
Received 83 Likes on 46 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Fwpratt View Post
in Settings > Communications > Serial Port 1
did you change "Garmin Std" to "NMEA Std"
I did. No luck.
Old 08-25-2017, 07:18 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,744
Received 494 Likes on 327 Posts
Default

I your radio connected to the same ground source as the Garmin.
Likes:
Old 08-27-2017, 06:20 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 690
Received 83 Likes on 46 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bluewaterpirate View Post
I your radio connected to the same ground source as the Garmin.
Yes, The garmin and vhf come off the same bus bar/fuse panel. Since the garmin doesn't have a separate negative for the nmea I connected the vhf nmea negative to the vhf ground.
Old 08-27-2017, 07:54 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,744
Received 494 Likes on 327 Posts
Default

The Garmin uses the power ground as a NMEA 0183 ground source the radio has two separate grounds the power & NMEA 0183 the 0183 ground has to go to a seperate ground source it cannot be connected to the Garmin power ground source.

Old 08-27-2017, 08:22 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,634
Received 1,690 Likes on 1,283 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bluewaterpirate View Post
the 0183 ground has to go to a separate ground source it cannot be connected to the Garmin power ground source.
?

Old 08-27-2017, 09:14 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,744
Received 494 Likes on 327 Posts
Default

I said the Garmin was grounded its the radio that has to have a seperate ground for the 0183 connection. Look at the picture.
Old 08-27-2017, 09:28 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,634
Received 1,690 Likes on 1,283 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bluewaterpirate View Post
its the radio that has to have a separate ground for the 0183 connection.
the VHF has a 0183(-) conductor, yes. The Garmin does not. So they connect via "ground".

what is a "separate ground"?

Unless the VHF is powered by one battery, the Garmin by a different battery,
AND the battery negatives are NOT common to each other - "Ground is Ground".
Likes:
Old 08-27-2017, 10:06 AM
  #10  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Florida
Posts: 764
Received 94 Likes on 78 Posts
Default

You are hooked up right, technically you need only the Garmin Blue TX+ > SH Blue RX +. Ground is common. Make sure your port is set to either std(4800) or hs(38400) depending on what SH wants to see. I believe it is std. ALSO not sure on your Garmin but you need to enable User Data Sharing. Make sure you only have one device TX in your case the Garmin.
Likes:
Old 08-27-2017, 10:10 AM
  #11  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Florida
Posts: 764
Received 94 Likes on 78 Posts
Default

ohhh yeah.. Some of Garmin's earlier firmware only outputs heading for Autopilots. No Lat/Lon. I would verify with them is Lat/Lon is even transmitted on the 0183 Bus. Get your firmware version before you call.
Old 08-27-2017, 12:12 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,744
Received 494 Likes on 327 Posts
Default

Separate the VHF power ground & the VHF NMEA ground .....
Old 08-27-2017, 06:16 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 690
Received 83 Likes on 46 Posts
Default

The VHF power ground and nmea ground are the same. Everything is connected to the same ground bar, but I will separate it anyway. The garmin is set up for nmea standard, which the vhf calls for. The correct nmea sentences are turned on.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.