Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Simrad Evo 3 Powering up

Old 08-22-2017, 07:32 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Simrad Evo 3 Powering up

I have recently added 2- NSS Evo 3 9" Simrads and when I power them down they will automatically power back up after a couple of minutes to the Accept screen and I have to power it back down. Once I power it down the Simrad emblem stays on the black screen and then powers back up on its on. Any suggestions??
Old 08-23-2017, 07:23 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: TX
Posts: 114
Likes: 0
Received 24 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

It sounds like you're describing a situation where on the first "power down" it isn't powering down but rebooting. A true power down ends with a totally dark screen.

As you no doubt know there are multiple ways to wire the MFD so that you can choose how and when it powers up, individually or as a Master/Slave arrangement, etc. Do you know how yours is wired?
Old 08-23-2017, 07:33 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 144
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

on the power cable....there is 4 wires red (+), black (-), yellow (signal), and blue (alarm). You have got the yellow connected to a power source. When it is connected this way, the unit will automatically turn on when you turn on your battery switch or master power. Down side is that you cannot turn unit off...only put it in standby mode. If you disconnect the yellow wire, you will have to manually turn the unit on each time, but you can turn it off whenever you want.
Old 08-23-2017, 08:04 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I don't as the dealership installed but it sounds like it wired the way you are saying. It does power up when the master is turned on but I think I'd prefer to turn on when I want them to turn on. Thanks for the info as I ask the installer. Do you know if this is prefered way with 2 MFDs or just the way they chose to do it?
Old 08-23-2017, 08:36 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 144
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

just preference. if you disconnect yellow from power source and connect the two yellows from each unit together, then when you turn one unit on, the other will automatically come on.
Old 08-23-2017, 08:56 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you!!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.