Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Side scan install in hull

Old 08-22-2017, 08:06 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Side scan install in hull

I ve seen someone install though-hull transducer in hull. I am wondering if it is possible to install side scan ducer in hull. How much would it affect the view? I am thinking about ordering Lowrance HDS gen3 and LSS 2 side scan, and install it in hull.
Old 08-22-2017, 08:32 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 4,303
Received 309 Likes on 261 Posts
Default

You can get a thru hull transducer pair

Jim
Old 08-22-2017, 08:35 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by netfeng View Post
I ve seen someone install though-hull transducer in hull. I am wondering if it is possible to install side scan ducer in hull. How much would it affect the view? I am thinking about ordering Lowrance HDS gen3 and LSS 2 side scan, and install it in hull.
Sorry no, you cannot install a Side Scan / Down Scan as an in hull.


.
Old 08-22-2017, 08:45 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,757
Received 644 Likes on 430 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by netfeng View Post
I ve seen someone install though-hull transducer in hull. I am wondering if it is possible to install side scan ducer in hull. How much would it affect the view? I am thinking about ordering Lowrance HDS gen3 and LSS 2 side scan, and install it in hull.


Due to the design of the transducer and the arraignment of its elements it cannot be mounted as an inhull as it would be blocked by the boat. You can do thru hull or even surface mount the Structurscan transom mounted transducer by using the Navico flat mount bracket










Likes:
Old 08-22-2017, 09:22 AM
  #5  
Senior Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,482
Likes: 0
Received 32 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by netfeng View Post
I ve seen someone install though-hull transducer in hull. I am wondering if it is possible to install side scan ducer in hull. How much would it affect the view? I am thinking about ordering Lowrance HDS gen3 and LSS 2 side scan, and install it in hull.
I would not recommend installing the LSS-2 in the hull. I am certain there will be a variety of different performance issues that would make this a very poor install location.
Old 08-22-2017, 09:54 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,453
Likes: 0
Received 1,130 Likes on 920 Posts
Default

It won't work due to the high frequency, it's 455/800 kHz vs 50/200 kHz for a normal transducer.
Old 08-22-2017, 06:38 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for quick response. It seems in hull mounting is a bad idea. Unfutunately we don't want to break the hull for reasons. Even surface mounting requires scewing into the hull plus cable routing is another issue..

Any better solution for a 44' catamarin to equip side scan? Is it possible to mount the transducer by a telescoping pole on the rear handrail and strech it into water when needed?
Old 08-22-2017, 06:43 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Use a Stern Saver and mount on the transom....thus no screw holes etc.

Old 08-22-2017, 07:29 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
Use a Stern Saver and mount on the transom....thus no screw holes etc.
If you look at the rear picture of a 44' catamaran, i.e. lagoon 440, there is no space to mount a transducer like that. Cable routing is a big problem mounting anywhere outside the hull.

I am not authorized to post a link at the moment, you can just google lagoon 440 to see what I mean.
Old 08-22-2017, 08:11 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,757
Received 644 Likes on 430 Posts
Default

Don't take this the wrong way. Do the thru Hull and don't look back.
Old 08-22-2017, 08:22 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by netfeng View Post
If you look at the rear picture of a 44' catamaran, i.e. lagoon 440, there is no space to mount a transducer like that. Cable routing is a big problem mounting anywhere outside the hull.

I am not authorized to post a link at the moment, you can just google lagoon 440 to see what I mean.
On a boat that large...why side scan?
It's main use is in rather shallow water and mainly for bottom detail.

If you are looking for fish...and general water depth etc......why not use a traditional in hull (Shoot thru) transducer?


.
Old 08-22-2017, 08:32 PM
  #12  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by InternationalMarineBrian View Post
Don't take this the wrong way. Do the thru Hull and don't look back.
Old 08-22-2017, 08:48 PM
  #13  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
On a boat that large...why side scan?
It's main use is in rather shallow water and mainly for bottom detail.

If you are looking for fish...and general water depth etc......why not use a traditional in hull (Shoot thru) transducer?


.
Because I don't have smaller boat... and wanted to do things a small boat can do. A catamaran can go through very shallow water as well, looking for wrecks or interesting diving points, as well as smaller fish... But I don't have real experience of using a side scan. Maybe I am wrong, I feeling is that a traditional CHIRP transducer can not replace a side view concerning the range of scan area and detail in shallow water.
Old 08-23-2017, 12:52 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 551
Received 144 Likes on 77 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by netfeng View Post
Is it possible to mount the transducer by a telescoping pole on the rear handrail and strech it into water when needed?
The simple answer is yes you can and it works very well. I haven't done it myself but some friends with a Lagoon 42 have and it worked really well.
Old 08-23-2017, 09:13 PM
  #15  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Aus Slipstream View Post
The simple answer is yes you can and it works very well. I haven't done it myself but some friends with a Lagoon 42 have and it worked really well.
I was about to give up. You lighted me up again... I was thinking about the solution just in mind, but never see this kind of mounting set. I guess it is not easy to find it. Could you point me out where to get this telescoping pole like mounting set?
Old 08-24-2017, 07:09 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 551
Received 144 Likes on 77 Posts
Default

Its been a while since I've seen it but from memory they mounted the transducer on a plate welded to the bottom piece of stainless steel rod which slid up and down through a couple of mounts on the aft cockpit just inboard of the port hull. Because they had the dinghy davit and solar panel mount close by you hardly noticed it and they slid the whole thing up out of the water when not in use. It was one of the cleanest best sidescan pictures I've seen because it could be lowered into clean undisturbed water. I'm pretty sure they had it made but it wouldn't be hard to do as its a pretty simple setup.

They always said it was fantastic when cruising for just checking out the bottom, finding wrecks and surveying anchoring spots.
Old 08-25-2017, 06:16 PM
  #17  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Aus Slipstream View Post
Its been a while since I've seen it but from memory they mounted the transducer on a plate welded to the bottom piece of stainless steel rod which slid up and down through a couple of mounts on the aft cockpit just inboard of the port hull. Because they had the dinghy davit and solar panel mount close by you hardly noticed it and they slid the whole thing up out of the water when not in use. It was one of the cleanest best sidescan pictures I've seen because it could be lowered into clean undisturbed water. I'm pretty sure they had it made but it wouldn't be hard to do as its a pretty simple setup.

They always said it was fantastic when cruising for just checking out the bottom, finding wrecks and surveying anchoring spots.
It's good to know a solution there, thank you for the infomation.
Old 08-26-2017, 02:19 PM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 485
Received 56 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

I am considering using the flat mount kit to attach my transducer to the bottom as posted above.
Has anyone used this kit?
Does it allow you transducer to read above 30mph?
Will is cause turbulence/spray behind it?
Ant info would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
Jeff

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.