Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Navionics HotMaps won't load..

Old 08-21-2017, 06:08 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Navionics HotMaps won't load..

I just bought a boat that came with a Lowrance Elite 5. I bought a Navionics HotMaps chip for the mid-west states. When I put the chip in nothing loads.. Anyone else have similar issues or any idea what I'm doing incorrectly?

Thanks,

Jeremy
Old 08-21-2017, 06:11 AM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 28
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Have you switched to Navionics on your chart options?
Old 08-21-2017, 06:14 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yes, I select navionics and nothing changes.
Old 08-21-2017, 01:07 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Is the software in the Lowrance up to date? http://www.lowrance.com/en-US/Softwa...s/Elite-5-DSI/

Which Navionics Hotmaps card did you get specifically?
Old 08-21-2017, 02:04 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I'm not sure, I'll check when I get home. I got the "North" version of Hot Maps platinum
Old 08-21-2017, 02:08 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Platinum will not work in that unit.

Follow this link for compatibility chart
https://dbe2w38xsulyl.cloudfront.net...ty_guide_1.pdf
Old 08-21-2017, 02:12 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Son of a..yeah I shouldn't have just took the guys word at Cabela's.. Thank you for the information, appreciate it!
Old 08-21-2017, 02:14 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Do you have any recommendations what to get for it?
Old 08-21-2017, 02:19 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jeremy1640 View Post
Do you have any recommendations what to get for it?
There are a couple different versions of the Elite 5 can you be more specific with which one? I can then make a suggestion for yah
Old 08-21-2017, 04:22 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I think it's just the elite 5. That's all it says on the unit. I looked at the box for the fish finder and it says compatible with multiple chips including navionics gold and lakemaster.
Old 08-21-2017, 07:43 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

It may not work with Lakemaster now that they are owned by Humminbird/Johnson Outdoors and Lakemaster doesnt make a card for Lowrance.

Post a picture of the unit, that will be helpful, some of the older ones wont run over a 2gb card. If that is the case you you will have to go direct to Navionics and get the Navionics+ 2gb card, retailers dont carry it in stock.
Attached Images  
Old 08-22-2017, 06:25 AM
  #12  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Here's the unit on my boat. Thanks for your help
Attached Images  
Old 08-22-2017, 11:57 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

The part number for the Elite 5 = MSD/NAV+W

I would direct the customer to order from West Marine as I know that they have ordered many.

Navionics + world chart on 2GB media, this chart is not preloaded with any data and requires the user to select a region and then download up to 2GB, 1 year FD, MSRP $249.00.
MSD/NAV+W
Likes:
Old 08-23-2017, 01:29 PM
  #14  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I hope I'm looking at this wrong but I want the navionics chip so I can see one foot contours for fishing. Based on the compatibility guide it looks like I can only get nautical charts for my unit even if I buy the Worldwide chip. Is that correct?
Old 08-23-2017, 01:36 PM
  #15  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 28
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jeremy1640 View Post
I hope I'm looking at this wrong but I want the navionics chip so I can see one foot contours for fishing. Based on the compatibility guide it looks like I can only get nautical charts for my unit even if I buy the Worldwide chip. Is that correct?
I'm not sure what you mean by World Wide chip?

The Navionics+ card with give you all of North America inland and coastal waters. SonarCharts are compatible with the Lowrances Elite5 HDI, so you will get the 1' contours.
Old 08-23-2017, 01:41 PM
  #16  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Sorry, Navionics + World chart. I was told this is the only chip that is compatible with my unit. I do not have an Elite 5 HDI, Its just the basic Elite 5 with GPS. The fish finder came with the boat I bought so I know little about it.
Old 08-23-2017, 01:47 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Yes with your unit you only get Nautical Charts, here is a link to the map previewer. Here you can look at the lake contours of the bodies of water you fish, some of these lakes do have one foot contours. https://webapp.navionics.com/?lang=e...%7B%7CkoGfinxP
Old 08-23-2017, 01:48 PM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Mtmouse View Post
I'm not sure what you mean by World Wide chip?

The Navionics+ card with give you all of North America inland and coastal waters. SonarCharts are compatible with the Lowrances Elite5 HDI, so you will get the 1' contours.
He has the base Elite 5 it will only read the card I listed above.MSD/NAV+W
Old 08-23-2017, 01:54 PM
  #19  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ok so, its just like the navionics on my phone, most larger lakes will have detailed 1' contours even though I'll only have nautical charts? jeez, you'd swear I'm 100 years old and out of touch with technology..
Old 08-23-2017, 01:57 PM
  #20  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 28
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

My mistake. I thought you had the Elite 5 HDI. Stick with KIrtH's information, apparently he's paying attention better than I am.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.