Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine Upload GPS Coordinates

Old 08-19-2017, 06:27 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: san diego
Posts: 281
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Raymarine Upload GPS Coordinates

I have an MFD C127. Updated software and lost my GPS coordinates. I'd like to enter them into a file. And upload them via the sd card?? Is there a way for me to enter in large quantity of GPS coordinates via the SD card?

If so, what format do I use?

Thank you
Old 08-19-2017, 06:36 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 2,999
Likes: 0
Received 253 Likes on 206 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by theosea View Post
Is there a way for me to enter in large quantity of GPS coordinates via the SD card?
Typically you will want to enter the latitude and longitude angles of some places on Earth, not the orbital coordinates of GPS satellites. Data about GPS satellite orbits is provided by the GPS system itself in the ephemeris that is broadcast.

The .GPX or GPS eXchange format is useful for transferring geoposition data among various devices. Most modern devices support import of export of geoposition data using files in the .GPX format.

There is a very useful utility application, GPSBabel, that runs on multiple operating systems that can be used to convert random tabular data in various latitude and longitude angles into the standard .GPX format. GPSBabel may be useful for your to manipulate your data. There is often confusion about the expression of latitude and longitude angles in various formats that must be handled. This is best done in a batch conversion using GPSBabel.
Old 08-19-2017, 06:44 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: san diego
Posts: 281
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Wow! I will google all of thst to decipher it. I have my fishing spots and ridges in xxx.xx.xxx over xxx.xx.xxx that I want o upload.

Thank you sir
Old 08-19-2017, 07:04 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
OffshoreApparel.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,741
Received 605 Likes on 355 Posts
Default

I use both GPS babel and GPS visualizer. Raymarine is a bit tricky sometimes getting it to read the file on the card due to their file structure. I've found the easiest way is to power the unit on and back up your waypoints onto a card. In backup process the Raymarine unit will create a couple files/folders.
Plug that card into your computer and find the waypoint backup file. Once you convert your new file into the appropriate file type, copy and paste with the same name where the backup file was. My unit would never read a freshly formatted card with the gpx file on it despite following the directions to a T.

http://www.gpsvisualizer.com/convert_input
Old 08-26-2017, 09:12 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: san diego
Posts: 281
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Thank you offshore!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.