Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Does Garmin have Computer Based Simulators?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Does Garmin have Computer Based Simulators?

Old 08-09-2017, 07:04 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Brunswick, GA
Posts: 441
Received 187 Likes on 84 Posts
Default Does Garmin have Computer Based Simulators?

Hi all. Does anyone know if Garmin has any desktop simulators? All of my Lowrance units have simulators I can run on the desktop. But so far, I have been unable to find anything for the Echomap 94sv that came with my boat. Thanks.
Old 08-09-2017, 08:10 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,966
Likes: 0
Received 430 Likes on 268 Posts
Default

What are you trying to do? Garmin's Homeport will let you look at charts, create routes, etc. Or are you trying to learn the menus, functions, etc?
Old 08-09-2017, 08:16 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Brunswick, GA
Posts: 441
Received 187 Likes on 84 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Buoy Scout View Post
What are you trying to do? Garmin's Homeport will let you look at charts, create routes, etc. Or are you trying to learn the menus, functions, etc?
Trying to learn menus, functions, etc. The boat is down in Brunswick, GA, and I am in Atlanta for the next few weeks. I wanted to run a simulator on my desktop, like I do with my Lowrance, to familiarize myself with menus and settings before I took it out again.
Old 08-09-2017, 09:44 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,533
Likes: 0
Received 256 Likes on 210 Posts
Default

A 5 year old can use a garmin. It's not needed.
Likes:
Old 08-10-2017, 06:51 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Brunswick, GA
Posts: 441
Received 187 Likes on 84 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
A 5 year old can use a garmin. It's not needed.
Oh my, thank you. We are so lucky to have someone so helpful. What ever would we do without you? And to think I, as a mere mortal, was stupid enough to think it might be a good idea to know the menus BEFORE going out and wasting my time on the water familiarizing myself with with menus I could have learned beforehand. Thank you for setting me straight - I feel so inadequate now.
Old 08-10-2017, 06:56 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,966
Likes: 0
Received 430 Likes on 268 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by scallen2112 View Post
Oh my, thank you. We are so lucky to have someone so helpful. What ever would we do without you? And to think I, as a mere mortal, was stupid enough to think it might be a good idea to know the menus BEFORE going out and wasting my time on the water familiarizing myself with with menus I could have learned beforehand. Thank you for setting me straight - I feel so inadequate now.
Well don't get you panties all up in a wad. I think you are over-thinking this. The best way to learn is to sit at the plotter with the manual and work through the menus. It's not rocket surgery...and there is no "simulator" software. If you need to do this, bring it home with you and plug it in to a 12v power supply and play to your heart's content.
Old 08-10-2017, 07:10 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Brunswick, GA
Posts: 441
Received 187 Likes on 84 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Buoy Scout View Post
Well don't get you panties all up in a wad. I think you are over-thinking this. The best way to learn is to sit at the plotter with the manual and work through the menus. It's not rocket surgery...and there is no "simulator" software. If you need to do this, bring it home with you and plug it in to a 12v power supply and play to your heart's content.
Exactly! But the unit is in Brunswick and I am in Atlanta - thus my asking if anyone knew of a simulator so I could do exactly as you suggested without having the unit in front of me. Bummer that there is no simulator. Guess Lowrance out-thought Gamin on that one.

And thank you for confirming that there is not one so I can stop looking.
Old 08-10-2017, 07:21 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,137
Likes: 0
Received 1,557 Likes on 813 Posts
Default

If you have a West Marine or Bass pro etc nearby..just drop in and spend a few minutes on one of their units...

It will take just a few minute to learn the basics of the Garmin unit.


.
Likes:
Old 08-10-2017, 07:26 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Brunswick, GA
Posts: 441
Received 187 Likes on 84 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
If you have a West Marine or Bass pro etc nearby..just drop in and spend a few minutes on one of their units...

It will take just a few minute to learn the basics of the Garmin unit.


.
That's a good suggestion, thanks. There is a WM close.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.