Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 1040xs shuts down.????

Old 08-01-2017, 08:14 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Garmin 1040xs shuts down.????

On my last few fishing trips my Garmin 1040xs shuts down when I start my outboard. It usually doesn't happen until I'm fishing for a couple of hours. I watch the voltage drop on the Garmin when I turn the key on. Then when I push the button to start the motor (300 Zuke)the Garmin shuts down. Any Ideas. Motor starts Immediately so I don't think the batteries are weak. But then why does it only happen after fishing a few hours. Thanks Mike
Old 08-01-2017, 08:41 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 569
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by retired2fish View Post
On my last few fishing trips my Garmin 1040xs shuts down when I start my outboard. It usually doesn't happen until I'm fishing for a couple of hours. I watch the voltage drop on the Garmin when I turn the key on. Then when I push the button to start the motor (300 Zuke)the Garmin shuts down. Any Ideas. Motor starts Immediately so I don't think the batteries are weak. But then why does it only happen after fishing a few hours. Thanks Mike
What is enough to start an engine is not the same as what is needed to operate the Garmin.
Old 08-01-2017, 08:48 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 830
Likes: 0
Received 133 Likes on 105 Posts
Default

Had this same problem a few years ago, older garmin 182 didn't have a problem but the newer MFD could not tolerate a voltage drop. It happened 1 day and I had to do a hard reset and lost all of my waypoints. I installed a Blue Seas add a battery kit and never had another problem. It has an isolator that prevents a voltage drop on the house battery when starting. I would suggest taking care of it before you need a new MFD.
Old 08-01-2017, 08:49 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Stapleton, AL
Posts: 2,979
Received 1,032 Likes on 595 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by retired2fish View Post
On my last few fishing trips my Garmin 1040xs shuts down when I start my outboard. It usually doesn't happen until I'm fishing for a couple of hours. I watch the voltage drop on the Garmin when I turn the key on. Then when I push the button to start the motor (300 Zuke)the Garmin shuts down. Any Ideas. Motor starts Immediately so I don't think the batteries are weak. But then why does it only happen after fishing a few hours. Thanks Mike
Not sure why it doesn't happen every time. But I'm pretty sure the Garmin is sensing a voltage drop and shutting off on low voltage. One way to eliminate this is to have a house battery and crank battery separated with an automatic charging relay with start isolation.
Old 08-01-2017, 09:18 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl
Posts: 11,697
Likes: 0
Received 349 Likes on 267 Posts
Default

Solution above. You isolate the house and start batteries. Combine, with voltage sensitive relay between the start and house/electronics battery. When the battery voltage drops to 12.7 volts the combiner isolates the batteries. When the engine charging system gets the start battery to 13.7 or so volts, the combiner combines the batteries. When you shut down the engine, voltage drops to below 12.7--battery are again isolated.

The spikes and now voltage of starting the engine are not good for any instruments. I learned this lesson over 45 years ago, when electronic instruments first came out. Now we have a great system to protect them.
Old 08-02-2017, 05:35 AM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Thanks so much guys. My last boat was a bass boat and my batteries were house and trolling motor and separate. The boat in question I have two batteries on a switch with off 1-2-all. Forgive my ignorance but how can I tell if they are separate or are they with the switch. Can you tell me what I need to buy I want to fix this immediately. Should I just add another battery with another on/off switch solely for a house and have two start batteries???Thanks again

Last edited by retired2fish; 08-02-2017 at 05:50 AM. Reason: Add text
Old 08-02-2017, 05:52 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,460
Likes: 0
Received 1,444 Likes on 719 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by retired2fish View Post
Thanks so much guys. My last boat was a bass boat and my batteries were house and trolling motor and separate. The boat in question I have two batteries on a switch with off 1-2-all. Forgive my ignorance but how can I tell if they are separate or are they with the switch. Can you tell me what I need to buy I want to fix this immediately. Should I just add another battery with another on/off switch solely for a house and have two start batteries???Thanks again




Is this the switch you have?


.
Old 08-02-2017, 06:19 AM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Yes Gil that's it
Old 08-02-2017, 07:04 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 9,157
Received 1,221 Likes on 748 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by retired2fish View Post
Thanks so much guys. My last boat was a bass boat and my batteries were house and trolling motor and separate. The boat in question I have two batteries on a switch with off 1-2-all. Forgive my ignorance but how can I tell if they are separate or are they with the switch. Can you tell me what I need to buy I want to fix this immediately. Should I just add another battery with another on/off switch solely for a house and have two start batteries???Thanks again
In the short term, leave the switch in the "both" or "all" position when starting the engine and your problem will go away. Doing what was recommended above is the way to go.
Old 08-02-2017, 07:32 AM
  #10  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Is this what I need??
Attached Images  
Old 08-02-2017, 08:39 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,624
Received 531 Likes on 285 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by retired2fish View Post
Is this what I need??
This is exactly what I have on my bay boat to connect my starting and house batteries. I've had it for a couple of years with no problems. Also, when I installed it, I had a couple of questions and the folks there were very helpful and friendly.



.
Old 08-02-2017, 04:41 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Stapleton, AL
Posts: 2,979
Received 1,032 Likes on 595 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by retired2fish View Post
Is this what I need??
Yes, that is exactly what you need.
Old 08-02-2017, 05:40 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 830
Likes: 0
Received 133 Likes on 105 Posts
Default

That is what I installed, I had the wiring diagram for my boat that helped a lot. There is also a wire that senses the start voltage and isolates the house but I did not need to hook that up, it attaches to the key switch. You'll never have to worry again about switching from 1 to 2 again, the battery switch is on- off- combine, normal operation is "on". You can also monitor the charging of both batteries by using the MFD to see house voltage and the motor gauge to see starting voltage, you can see when the ACR opens and starts to charge the house battery. You will need appropriate sized cable, lugs and a couple of fuses, I used breakers instead, I believe they were 50A. They have the instructions on their website so you can plan to have all of the equipment, the kit doesn't have everything.
Old 08-03-2017, 07:32 PM
  #14  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Picked up the ACR and switch pack today. Was looking at directions to see what else I need before I tackled the install. It says for outboards you need to run a wire from the ACR to the start side of ignition my problem is it's a brand new 300 Suzuki. I have an on/off key with a push button start. Any ideas where I would hook that wire to everything is plug in. Drive by wire. Thanks again
Old 08-03-2017, 07:54 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Stapleton, AL
Posts: 2,979
Received 1,032 Likes on 595 Posts
Default

There's a couple write ups on here about how to wire the ACR up. The directions will tell you to mount it in between your two batteries. The only problem with this is it will always be "on" and will have a slight parasitic drain. You can actually wire it directly to the battery switch and it works the exact same way but when you turn the battery switch off the ACR turns off too. Curious to know if anyone else has wired directly to the battery switch.

I've had mine for a little while now but I haven't hooked it up yet. I've got a lot of other electrical work I need to do and I'm going to wait till snapper season is over. Not sure exactly where you tap into the ignition wire at, I do know a lot of people skip that step.
Old 08-03-2017, 08:33 PM
  #16  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

It seems according to directions. Motors with both alternator and starter wires. Typically outboards they want you to run a wire to ignition but inboards you don't have to. Probably gonna call blue sea and get the answer from horses mouth.
Old 08-04-2017, 11:29 AM
  #17  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Spoke to Blue seas they said the ignition wire is optional but you need it if your having the issue I'm having with my electronics
Old 08-05-2017, 08:21 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 9,282
Received 531 Likes on 302 Posts
Default

I get the add-a-battery model, but someone explain to me...

In his current setup, he has the ability to start the motor off either battery #1 or battery #2.

With this kit, he's created a house battery that he can drain while he's out fishing - that's good. But hasn't he lost the redundancy of being able to crank the motor off either battery?
Old 08-05-2017, 09:38 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Stapleton, AL
Posts: 2,979
Received 1,032 Likes on 595 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Flot View Post
I get the add-a-battery model, but someone explain to me...

In his current setup, he has the ability to start the motor off either battery #1 or battery #2.

With this kit, he's created a house battery that he can drain while he's out fishing - that's good. But hasn't he lost the redundancy of being able to crank the motor off either battery?
There's a combine feature on the switch. It hooks both batteries together to start motor though I do not think you would ever need that with this set up
Old 08-05-2017, 09:59 AM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,039
Likes: 0
Received 277 Likes on 167 Posts
Default

I've been using the BEP 716A since 2006 never had any problems with my batteries charging or holding a charge. I average about 5 - 6 years per set of AGM batteries.

Here's my setup. 2009
















2017 The only thing I've done was replace the Both Switch Knob replaced at no charge to me 9 years into the install.




Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.