Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

1040xs vs. b175hw - who's right

Old 05-05-2017, 03:29 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 82
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default 1040xs vs. b175hw - who's right

Long story short - the 1040xs stopped recognizing the b175hw.

When I turn the GPS/FF on, what I get is a 'Dual Freq' unit which doesn't allow for CHIRP. Only an option of 200 or 50 mhz frequency selection.

I've done the following to try to rule out issues (thanks to a local dealer)
- Swap for another 1040xs - same result - No chirp, only dual frequency
- Swap for a 1242 xdv - same result - No chirp, only dual frequency
- Swap the 8 pin Garmin Wire Block (x2) thru the multiple units above - No chirp, only dual frequency option.
- Used a jumper on the Garmin Wire Block, and various cabling configurations guided by both Garmin and Airmar Tech Support - same results
- worked with 2 different Airmar tech support resources - to manually configure the unit (using the Garmin options) which yielded a Chirp recognition, but only as a GT8HW-IF transducer (which is a 250W Chirp unit) vs. the 1000W B175HW.

Airmar said the unit is working (Which it does and it clicks when on) and blames Garmin software. Garmin blames Airmar, and i'm stuck in the middle with a ducer that's not even 2 years old working at about 1/4 of it's functionality. It works, and I have many options, but the returns are not what they used to be.

Can any one recommend any other options? I would hate to have to spend the $ to get the boat out of the water to figure what's going on (remove the thru hull ducer)

I appreciate any guidance from experts.
Old 05-05-2017, 04:35 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,076
Received 607 Likes on 385 Posts
Default

Sounds like the XID chip in your transducer is dead. Problem: airmar
Old 05-05-2017, 05:52 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 82
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Thanks.

Anyone aware of an airman dealer that can connect it to the TDT1000 to validate? i'm located in the FL gulf coast area (Sarasota).

JG
Old 05-05-2017, 07:43 PM
  #4  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 866
Received 62 Likes on 34 Posts
Default

Agreed... xid chip malfunction. Pain in the butt to remove that transducer... I've done it once.
Old 05-05-2017, 09:38 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,660
Received 617 Likes on 415 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jorgegg View Post
Thanks.

Anyone aware of an airman dealer that can connect it to the TDT1000 to validate? i'm located in the FL gulf coast area (Sarasota).

JG
We have the ability to diagnose and test transducers. Any chance your headed over to the East Coast of Florida anytime soon?
Old 05-05-2017, 09:39 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,660
Received 617 Likes on 415 Posts
Default

Have you done a software update?
Old 05-06-2017, 06:01 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 82
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Thanks for the offer, but I don't have a trailer and the boat sits on a lift in the Manatee River. I've done all the software updates for the Garmin (including the May 4th version) but same results. If i'm not able to correct, I may have to remove/replace it, with another unit (but would like to avoid the spend since the unit is not that old).

Is there a way to fix transducer, and is it cost effective? Can't imagine just being out over 1k because there's no service aspect to these.
Old 05-06-2017, 06:16 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 132
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Am I understanding this right? In the Garmin software you manually selected the GT8HW-IF and it works on 250 watts, but if in the Garmin software you manually select the transducer b175hw it does NOT work? If that's correct, you have more problems than the xid.
Old 05-06-2017, 06:31 AM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Similar problem but with Raymarine

I've similar issue but with Raymarine 2x MFD, with 3 transducer. Similar situation like your garmin. Raymarine Tech cannot figure out why and even swap 2x new transducer same result!. Can't auto detect transducer type and need to manual select and even with manual select it's not working normally as you can only run either 50 or 200khz mode only.

Originally Posted by jorgegg View Post
Thanks for the offer, but I don't have a trailer and the boat sits on a lift in the Manatee River. I've done all the software updates for the Garmin (including the May 4th version) but same results. If i'm not able to correct, I may have to remove/replace it, with another unit (but would like to avoid the spend since the unit is not that old).

Is there a way to fix transducer, and is it cost effective? Can't imagine just being out over 1k because there's no service aspect to these.
Old 05-06-2017, 08:20 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SWFL
Posts: 3,080
Received 368 Likes on 198 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jorgegg View Post
Thanks.

Anyone aware of an airman dealer that can connect it to the TDT1000 to validate? i'm located in the FL gulf coast area (Sarasota).

JG
HWH Electronics on Treasure Island
Old 11-13-2018, 08:07 PM
  #11  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 80
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 1 Post
Default Any updates??

I am having the exact same issue! I had it set up but nooticed recently it changed back to 200/50. Chirp is not selectable anymore my options are 200/50, 200/77, and GT8HW-IF. I originally purchased all my electronics from BOE based on a good friends advise amd actually duplicated his system minus AIS. His is still working as a chirp ducer??? I’d be willing to bet its a Garmin software issue. I last updated in the spring of 2018
Old 11-13-2018, 08:12 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,660
Received 617 Likes on 415 Posts
Default

Please do the most recent software update and report back.
Old 11-14-2018, 09:06 AM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Palm City, Fl
Posts: 245
Received 21 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

1040xs has not been updated in over a year so any updates are not going to change anything on the 1040xs
Old 11-14-2018, 12:21 PM
  #14  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 80
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by InternationalMarineBrian View Post
Please do the most recent software update and report back.
I am going to load the most recent update tomorrow morning and will report back
Old 11-14-2018, 12:31 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,660
Received 617 Likes on 415 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by sammythebu11 View Post
1040xs has not been updated in over a year so any updates are not going to change anything on the 1040xs
You'd be surprised what a software update can and will fix.
Old 11-14-2018, 01:05 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Palm City, Fl
Posts: 245
Received 21 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

It was working before, I would go with your theory if it had never worked.
My take is transducer gone bad.
Old 11-14-2018, 01:18 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 5,472
Received 353 Likes on 232 Posts
Default

I am thinking it is the ducer. Mine did a similar thing and now doesn't work at all. It is a B160 and lasted around 5 years. My buddy had a B60 on his boat and it messed up and a couple of years too. Counting yours, that makes a sample of 3 and they are 0 for 3. I wish the tilted element ducers were more reliable. It worked well when it worked.

I take that back. I had a B60 on my 21 footer and it never gave me issues, so 1 for 4.
Old 11-14-2018, 02:21 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Titusville Fl
Posts: 232
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

I’ve got a 1040xs for sale if you need one.
Old 11-15-2018, 09:16 AM
  #19  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 80
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 1 Post
Default Update

Performed the software update this morning despite the version 6.6 being the same as the update i did back in June. Now I have more options in the transducer setup bit none of them for my ducer. My optikns now are dual beam(200/77), dual freq(200/50), MinnKota, MotorGuide, and Garmin GT8HW-IF. Spent over an hour on the phone with Garmin tech support and havent figured it out yet, they are working on it behind he scenes and will get back to me. Tech guy I spoke with yeaterday admitted that Garmin knew about an issue with certain chartplotters and ducers but wouldnt commit to my models being involved. I am going to call airmar to find a tech that can test the transducer local to Wareham Ma. So I can rule that out but seems strange that the problem developed after an update to the software in the chartplotter.
Old 11-15-2018, 09:18 AM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,660
Received 617 Likes on 415 Posts
Default

Good so it seems that the software update did make some differences. If you want to remove the transducer and send it to our shop in Boynton Beach we have all of the airmar transducer testers on hand

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.