Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Fusion zones question

Old 03-22-2017, 10:21 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 470
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Fusion zones question

I've got an older Fusion CD600 and I feed my sat radio through my Garmin gxm51 and into the head unit via the aux in which is only L&R. I feed a signal to my 4 channel amp via the line out which is also only L&R and thus each rca out is split. I know I can't feed the higher voltage feeds to the amp directly without a reducer of some kind. I'm really new to this and just learning but I'm assuming with the L&R out this will be allow me one separation control which I would separate front from back. I honestly haven't tried adjusting the zones.

My understanding is that the CD 600 has 3 zones...two assigned to the higher voltage head powered lines (which I can't currently use) and one for the lower power line out which goes to the amp. With only the Aux in feeding the unit I would appreciate any input on what others think is the best way to utilize the zones on the Fusion.
Old 03-22-2017, 11:41 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 144
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I'm about to install an IP600 with an external amp and have looked into this as well. Fusion and other brands sell a line converter for this purpose and I'm curious to know what the experts think in terms of how much this would increase the risk of additional noise or distortion. The upside is the ability to separately control different channels on the amp utilizing the Fusion zones (e.g., fading) versus the potential downside of more risky connections between the IP600 and amp. I assume there's at least some risk of additional noise or distortion entering the equation with a line converter as opposed to just using the single RCA outs from the IP600 either to feed directly into the amp with 2 channels (most amps have a 2 channel input function which will then feed the 2 input (L/R) signals to the other amp channels) or using an RCA splitter between the Fusion RCA outs and the amp inputs.
Old 03-22-2017, 12:09 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 470
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

After doing some more reading I ordered a couple of the Fusion HL-02 high to low converters along with another harness as I'm missing the high side attachment on my units harness. I'm assuming the head unit will be able to split the incoming "Aux in" signal into the two primary zones. It will be a while before I get back down to FL to plug things in but from what I've read on other threads I think this should work.
Old 03-22-2017, 09:51 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,215
Likes: 0
Received 192 Likes on 158 Posts
Default

to use all 3 zones you have to use the speaker outputs. so either run 4 speakers off the deck and zone 3 off the amp. or get amps with high to low converters.

the newer decks have RCA outs for all zones. so all zones could have amps. also they can be named on the deck. IE "salon" instead of just zone 1

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.