The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-18-2017, 02:50 PM   #1
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,047
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Raymarine Autopilot Hardover when pushing "Auto"

ST8000 series (I think it is 8001, don't recall).

What is something to look at that would cause the motors to go hard over when pushing "auto". I have been reading the commissioning documents, and I can't seem to get the "ah-ha" moment!?

Thanks,
Pete
OldPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 09:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,032
Default

first thing I would do is to make sure you don't have a MOB stored in the gps that connected to pilot.
Reel 007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 09:47 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

is this new or was working?

if previsouly working. turn the wheel back and forth and see if you have rudder feed back on the screen and it's going in the right direction.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 12:34 AM   #4
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 11,544
Default

Previous thread:
http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...lot-issue.html
TTaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 04:20 AM   #5
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 16,955
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Likely rudder feedback or pump polarity reversed. You just had a repower so maybe the rudder reference unit had to get mounted differently or maybe the wiring was disconnected then reversed when reattached.
yachtjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 04:31 AM   #6
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,047
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

When I bought the boat they changed the rudder feedback thing (mounted on one of the outboards).

Currently I can get it to read the rudder position... so I don't think that's it (unless you tell me I'm wrong).

Any other ideas?

Thanks
Pete
OldPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 04:33 AM   #7
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,047
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yachtjim View Post
Likely rudder feedback or pump polarity reversed. You just had a repower so maybe the rudder reference unit had to get mounted differently or maybe the wiring was disconnected then reversed when reattached.
Hi Jim,

It was doing it before the re-repower. When we first sea-trialed the boat it was doing it, so they changed the the rudder indicator (there was an error on the display)... now it does the hard-over and has since (yeah, I'm a bum for not getting to it sooner)... the feedback indicator works as far as sending showing the rudder moving on the display, which tells me that it must be working (?)...

Thoughts? Pump polarity? You think something that simple?
OldPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 04:34 AM   #8
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,047
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ah... wait... are you saying that the rudder polarity might be the culprit? Or the pump?...
OldPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 09:26 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldPete View Post
Ah... wait... are you saying that the rudder polarity might be the culprit? Or the pump?...
Either one of those would cause your problem.

You already told me the rudder gauge moves correctly when I asked. Which is easy to test because it's done with the pilot in standby
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 04:01 AM   #10
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,047
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
Either one of those would cause your problem.

You already told me the rudder gauge moves correctly when I asked. Which is easy to test because it's done with the pilot in standby
So, that would mean the rudder sensor is likely wired correctly or no?
OldPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 08:20 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldPete View Post
So, that would mean the rudder sensor is likely wired correctly or no?
If it's working yes.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 01:38 PM   #12
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,047
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
If it's working yes.
So check the polarity @ the pump?

Would that matter or would just make it go left when it should go right? Or is there more to it?
OldPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 03:24 PM   #13
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 11,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
If it's working yes.
If it's working correctly in the right direction, yes.
TTaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 06:00 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 936
Default

when I installed my new unit it did that too, turned out being a setting , I don't remember which one , something to do with speed reference something. I call Ray marine and the they went through the setting with me and it fixed it, works great now.
freddy063 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 06:06 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Huntington NY
Posts: 329
Default

I had the same unit on my Phoenix. At times it would work fine then all of a sudden it would die and on occasion I would get a hard over rudder. I ended up redoing the wiring which solved the problem, which I'm not sure if it was a bad ground or low voltage.
Katrina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 03:57 PM   #16
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,047
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ok!

Maybe this will help others...

Turns out that there is a relationship between the plotter (Classic e120) and the AP.

If you go to the plotter settings there is a setting (I can't think of the name) that allows for manual or automatic heading (I know I have the wording wrong). The salient point is that there is a 7 degree difference between the manual the auto. If I set it to MANUAL, I can then adjust the heading on the AP to match the magnetic heading of my compass... so that my compass on the boat, the magnetic reading on the GPS and the magnetic reading on the AP, compass in my hand (handheld mechanical) and the compass on the iPhone... all read the same thing. When I do this, I'm able to to literally turn the little knob on the AP and control my motor positions a few degrees at a time. It's really very cool.

I believe I still need to do my "SeaTrial" mode calibration and a few other calibrations... but it would appear that after a year of dicking around with this thing -- I shall have AP!!!



P.S. If anyone has anything to add... PLEASE do... I literally know ZERO about AP!
OldPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 07:26 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 643
Default

The AP11 I had done the hard over to port once and I ended up recalibrating the compass to correct it.
my little big boat is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:25 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.