Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

E-TEC to Simrad

Old 03-06-2017, 05:06 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NE North Carolina
Posts: 67
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default E-TEC to Simrad

I want to read engine and fuel data on my Simrad Go7 XSE. I have a 2009 E-Tec. I know I need the Simrad Evinrude Engine Interface Cable. Do I need the EP-85R memory device? Thanks Joel
Old 03-06-2017, 05:21 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Nansemond
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I believe you only need the EP-85R to store the data read on your trip, otherwise it will reset each time you turn off the engine.

With my Simrad and E-TEC, I have the Evinrude interface cable, NMEA 2000 backbone, and EP-60R fuel flow sensor (acts as an EP-85R).

Last edited by dougfunny; 03-06-2017 at 05:36 AM.
Old 03-06-2017, 05:38 AM
  #3  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Florida
Posts: 636
Likes: 0
Received 65 Likes on 56 Posts
Default

I thought Etecs already have fuel flow sensors on the motor? I have a Raymarine setup and it gives me fuel flow via the NMEA connection on the motor.
Old 03-06-2017, 05:39 AM
  #4  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Florida
Posts: 636
Likes: 0
Received 65 Likes on 56 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by aplusmiami View Post
I thought Etecs already have fuel flow sensors on the motor? I have a Raymarine setup and it gives me fuel flow via the NMEA connection on the motor.
My MFD retains the history.
Old 03-06-2017, 05:47 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Nansemond
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by aplusmiami View Post
I thought Etecs already have fuel flow sensors on the motor? I have a Raymarine setup and it gives me fuel flow via the NMEA connection on the motor.
Correct, you can read the flow data straight from the engine but just not store any fuel history such as tank level without a memory device.
Old 03-06-2017, 06:02 AM
  #6  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,904
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

You probably don't need the interface cable....as long as you're running the digital gauges and you have the Lowrance gps antenna then you already have the interface cable and N2K backbone installed (from whoever installed the engine). So if this is what you have then you just need an N2K "T" and drop cable, attach the drop cable to the Simrad and the new T and put the T on the backbone and you're done. But if you have analog gauges then yes you'll need the interface cable, N2K starter kit and fuel data manager module (old EP-85) to connect them together.
Old 03-06-2017, 06:27 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 2,715
Likes: 0
Received 179 Likes on 147 Posts
Default

With legacy LOWRANCE displays--and I presume with SIMRAD displays, too--the FUEL MANAGER function is not built into the display but resides in (what used to be called) the EP-85R Data Storage Module. That component is obsolete, and a replacement version is now available, called the FUEL DATA MANAGER. The new name better reflects the function.

The separation of the FUEL MANAGER function into its own NMEA-2000 device allows any connected display device to show the data stored in the FUEL DATA MANAGER, so you could have the fuel data displayed on one or more multi-functions displays or on some gauges like the LMF-400 series. That's the reason for the need to have the FUEL DATA MANAGER module. This is done with proprietary NMEA-2000 PGN's so it only works with Lowrance (or I presume Simrad) displays.

Other multi-function displays from other vendors perform the fuel manager function themselves, like the Garmin example someone mentions above. Those devices store all the data they need in their own system, so there is no need for an EP-85R or FUEL DATA MANAGER. But you cannot see that data on other devices; it's only there on the particular MFD that calculated the data.

With the GO7xse there is a new interface and operating system (the "HEROIC" operating system), and much promotion was given to features with names like "TripIntel". I have not seen a complete explanation of "TripIntel", but it sounds like it would track things like fuel use. This suggests that perhaps the FUEL DATA MANAGER is not needed. On that basis, I would set up the GO7xse without buying the FUEL DATA MANAGER and see what features you get. Maybe Simrad built the fuel manager function into the GO7xse.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.