Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Analog Tach to NMEA 2000

Old 03-04-2017, 12:59 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Texas City TX
Posts: 52
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Analog Tach to NMEA 2000

I've look but only found a couple older threads on it. Just want to see if any one is making an easy Analog to NMEA 2000 converter for a TACH
Old 03-04-2017, 07:55 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 15,312
Received 722 Likes on 557 Posts
Default

There are a bunch of converter/gateways i believe, but not just for the tach.

A few are :
Acti-sense EMU-1 http://www.actisense.com/products/nm...u-1/emu-1.html
Noland Eng. RS-11 http://www.nolandeng.com/rs11.php
Chetco Seaway http://www.seasmart.net/marine-wirel...rking-agw.html
Albi-Combi http://www.albacombi.com/

None real cheap, but not too spendy if converting input for other gauges too.
Likes:
Old 03-04-2017, 10:36 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 265
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

For what it's worth, I am using the RS-11 for about 2 years now and it has worked well with my Garmin. I am using the tach and temp from a Merc OB and fuel level from my boat last tank sending unit. I am working on adding a water pressure transducer currently. Not exactly "plug n play". It comes with a rather basic set up software that allow you to configure each input. The tach input allow you to select the number of pulses. Probably took me most of a day to get everything working right. Once it is set up, it is pretty cool to be able to make tweaks to the readings to get them just right rather than having to just get used to whatever reading you have.
Old 04-25-2018, 10:03 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 54
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TTaxi View Post
There are a bunch of converter/gateways i believe, but not just for the tach.

A few are :
Acti-sense EMU-1
Noland Eng. RS-11
Chetco Seaway
Albi-Combi
None real cheap, but not too spendy if converting input for other gauges too.
I've worked with all but the Noland. My recommendation is to get the EMU-1. There are a couple things about this product that make it better
1) Good customer support. I've had several communications with Actisense and they are always prompt in replying (albeit on UK time). Albacombi's support is TERRIBLE. Chetco is good as well, however...
2) Their interface is not great for configuration, EMU-1 has good software tools and an easy-to-understand GUI that makes configuration easy. Great for shade tree or DIY guys!
3) Hardware functionality. It's ok, but appears robust and flexible. This is important when pulling analog data. I ran into a specific issue on the Albacombi where RPM's were dropping off due to a poorly designed input filter.
4) Engine Hours! This function from what I can tell is unique to the EMU-1, and is a very good feature to have. However...

That said EMU-1 is NOT without drawback. Specifically:
4) Not all SW features are implemented. Engine hours cannot be configured as of this writing, and other parameters that the analogue gauges can make use of (specificially, things like boost senders) are not implemented in SW
5) Hardware inputs. This is an area where the albacombi really shines. It has ULTIMATE configurability, and a plethora of inputs.
6) EGT.... as far as I can tell, the Chetco is the only box that can take k thermocouple data. I don't know what the aux inputs are designed for on the EMU. Right now, I bought a Maretron TMP 100 to get this data. Far from ideal.

Hope this helps.
Old 04-25-2018, 12:01 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: central florida
Posts: 988
Likes: 0
Received 222 Likes on 104 Posts
Default

May want to look into VDO here.........

TFT Display
Old 04-25-2018, 01:24 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 54
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ReelPlumber View Post
May want to look into VDO here.........
Is there a datasheet for this anywhere?
Old 04-25-2018, 01:28 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 54
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by conju View Post
Is there a datasheet for this anywhere?
Reading what I can see about this a couple things jump out:
4x analog inputs, 1x frequency input means you get only one engine per box.
I'm not seeing anywhere this is N2K Certified. May be in process but could cause problems if not.
Neat product though.
Old 04-25-2018, 02:35 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: central florida
Posts: 988
Likes: 0
Received 222 Likes on 104 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by conju View Post
Is there a datasheet for this anywhere?
VDO - Global Website
See if this will help?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.