Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Airmar 175

Old 02-28-2017, 05:25 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Airmar 175

I have a Garmin 1040 that has been a real disappointment. The charts are not even close to the actual depth of the water . Is there a adapter that would allow me to hook up my Airmar 175 to a new Lowrance system ? Thanks
Old 02-28-2017, 06:13 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,529
Received 581 Likes on 389 Posts
Default

Where are you located?
Old 02-28-2017, 09:05 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

West Coast of BC....
Old 02-28-2017, 02:01 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The reading from the depth sounder is correct and has been confirmed by my downriggers, the depth reading from the chart is out by as much as 100ft in many locations. I need much more accurate readings and am looking to swap out my Garmin 1040 with a new Lowrance but have the Garmin compatible plug on the Airmar cable. I was hoping there was just an adapter cable that would allow me to hook up to a Lowrance
Old 02-28-2017, 06:53 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 892
Received 70 Likes on 45 Posts
Default

You can:

-update the maps on your 1040

-cut and splice on a new connector.

-cut old connector off and get an adapter box
Old 03-01-2017, 02:32 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,718
Likes: 0
Received 702 Likes on 558 Posts
Default

You can cut off the Garmin connector and splice in a Lowrance 7-pin pigtail connector. I have made an adapter for this purpose from a Garmin 8 to 6 pin adapter and the Lowrance Pigtail.
Old 03-01-2017, 06:23 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 217
Received 20 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Abbor do you happen to know the wiring from Garmin 6 pin Airmar transducer pigtail spliced into a 7 pin Simrad?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.