Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

WiFi on the Garmin MFD

Old 01-29-2017, 09:49 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,190
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default WiFi on the Garmin MFD

Seems pretty cool to mimic the MFD on my iPhone, but it might be a bit of a gimmick on a 30' open center console. I could see its value when away from the MFD for long periods of time, such as a tower or in a cabin. It doesn't control, only shows what's being displayed on the MFD.

With that, is WiFi worth activating on an open center console where I'm always a few steps from the MFD? Is there any detriment to using it, such as increased battery burn or electrical noise?
Old 01-29-2017, 09:56 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birch Bay / Sekiu
Posts: 1,098
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You should be able to control the MFD with your I-doohickey. I use an old iPad and it has that capability.

Its handy if you have a second station in the back of the boat or what have you other wise maybe not something you would need.
Old 01-29-2017, 10:15 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lake Lanier
Posts: 967
Received 36 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

You can control the unit with the phone or tablet over wifi with Garmin
Old 01-29-2017, 11:04 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 861
Likes: 0
Received 45 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

I use this on my garmin frequently on the sandbar. My fusion head unit it connected to garmin network and has fusion link. I use the wifi to access and change songs, look at battery voltage, and crank it up.
Old 01-29-2017, 11:33 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Destin Fl
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Does the 8212? Have you ability To be controlled from an iPhone or iPad?
Old 01-29-2017, 12:12 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,190
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by edyer View Post
You should be able to control the MFD with your I-doohickey. I use an old iPad and it has that capability.

Its handy if you have a second station in the back of the boat or what have you other wise maybe not something you would need.
Yep you're correct. I've since been playing around with it. Its too cool not to use, even with the single station.
Old 01-29-2017, 12:21 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,190
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by jeffreykell View Post
Does the 8212? Have you ability To be controlled from an iPhone or iPad?
I'm pretty sure you need an external adapter kit to make the 8212 WiFi-compatible, but with that it should be identical.
Old 01-29-2017, 02:53 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 220 Likes on 102 Posts
Default

We do a lot of C-zone boats and you can control it with the WiFi as well as Audio.
Mike
Old 01-29-2017, 04:45 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,140
Received 678 Likes on 416 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jeffreykell View Post
Does the 8212? Have you ability To be controlled from an iPhone or iPad?
as said above, you need to add a garmin external wifi unit...or add a unit such as a 7607/7608/etc that has built in wifi and is fully compatible w/the 8212. then you can use your phone/ipad to switch between all the units on the network.
Old 01-29-2017, 04:47 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Destin Fl
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by chainsaw42 View Post
as said above, you need to add a garmin external wifi unit...or add a unit such as a 7607/7608/etc that has built in wifi and is fully compatible w/the 8212. then you can use your phone/ipad to switch between all the units on the network.
7607 has The Wi-Fi but not the 82 series?
Old 01-29-2017, 04:48 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,140
Received 678 Likes on 416 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jeffreykell View Post
7607 has The Wi-Fi but not the 82 series?
correct
Old 01-29-2017, 04:49 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Destin Fl
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by chainsaw42 View Post
correct
Thank you.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.