Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Panoptix on a World Cat

Old 01-22-2017, 06:24 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 951
Received 815 Likes on 359 Posts
Default Panoptix on a World Cat

Wondering if a Garmin Panoptix PS30, transom mount transducer, would work on a 320 World Cat? Tried searching World Cat owners forum, couldn't find anything.
Old 01-22-2017, 07:05 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

That might be tricky with that hull. Does your transom look like this image? You may have a couple of issues to deal with.

First, the PS30 is huge. I forget the exact numbers but its something like 7" wide by 4" front to back x 3" thick and needs to sit broadside to the transom. It throws one heck of a rooster tail when all the way in the water.

It has a huge cone angle - 90 front to back x120 wide, plus it can be "steered" to the front or back another 40 degs or so. That means it needs to be mounted pretty low in the water to get the full function. Your engines will definitely block one side more that normal because you will have to mount it closer to the engine than on a typical single engine hull. You may even get ventilation of the prop at speed because its so low and so close.

Since its so big and needs to sit so low, it may well act like a trim tab. Also, the max speed limit is 25 mph. Im pretty sure your boat goes faster than that

I think you can still do it, but you're going to have to get creative. I would consider mounting it to a single trim tab or some other device that allows you to raise/lower it when you want to use it.

If you come up with a good solution, post it. Lots of folks struggling with mounting issues.
Attached Images  
Old 01-22-2017, 04:06 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 951
Received 815 Likes on 359 Posts
Default

Thanks Yrral.
All good points. It is a big ducer and I'm certainly concerned about interfering with water flow to prop. The idea of using a single trim tab, to raise/lower is interesting. I'm going to contact Garmin and possibly World Cat and see what they have to say.
Old 01-22-2017, 05:29 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 69
Likes: 0
Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

If you have a contact that will answer you at World Cat, please share. Thanks. Great boat, but terrible time trying to get info from them. Thanks
Old 01-22-2017, 05:32 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Some of the bass boat guys use a 'transducer stick'. They usually mount them at the bow because thats where they fish from. You would have to find a place to mount it and then raise/lower it as needed. Maybe in between the pontoons?

http://www.fishingspecialties.com/

or '

http://www.podunkideas.com/da-ducer-apparatusreg.html
Old 01-23-2017, 08:57 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 951
Received 815 Likes on 359 Posts
Default

Spoke with a Garmin tech and unfortunately he said they had no experience or info regarding a World Cat install. Left word with World Cat, waiting to hear back.

Here's something I found particularly vague in the instruction manual... it states, "Position the transducer mount so the bottom of the transducer sits below the water line". The water line??? I would assume like any typical transom install that it should be "below the hull bottom", especially this one because it looks all around. The Garmin tech agreed. There's no mention of how far below the water line either, (1/8", 1/4"?) and the crude illustration in the manual doesn't help.
Old 01-23-2017, 11:21 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 951
Received 815 Likes on 359 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post




Is that a PS30, (down view)? I thought it would be level, or parallel to the waterline?
Old 01-23-2017, 11:50 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Yeah, why did they tilt it like that? You can electronically "tilt" or angle the beam fore or aft. Maybe they wanted to look further forward or someone stepped on the mount

I would think tilting it physically might confuse the software. Its my understanding it relys on reflected signals from the surface to construct the images, calculate distances etc.

On the other hand I dont own one and never tried it so maybe its fine.
Old 01-23-2017, 11:52 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,747
Likes: 0
Received 1,507 Likes on 769 Posts
Default

I was trying to show what not to do with a PS30....but the verbiage (description) did not come thru with my post..ugh!
I ahve seen several people mount this was..and not good results etc.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 01-23-2017 at 12:12 PM.
Old 01-26-2017, 05:15 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oak Island NC
Posts: 2,064
Likes: 0
Received 711 Likes on 394 Posts
Default

You sure they weren't going for "forward view?"
Old 07-30-2018, 12:24 PM
  #11  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location:
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Originally Posted by catch232 View Post
Wondering if a Garmin Panoptix PS30, transom mount transducer, would work on a 320 World Cat? Tried searching World Cat owners forum, couldn't find anything.
catch232, I am looking into Panoptix on my WC320 also. Did you ever get to the bottom of this?

Thanks!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.