Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine/Airmar B260 Wiring Diagram

Old 12-30-2016, 05:37 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,190
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Raymarine/Airmar B260 Wiring Diagram

I can't find the wiring diagram or specs for my legacy Ray/Airmar B260 on the Airmar website. It is Airmar Part #41-099-3-01, and Raymarine model E66033. At some point it was superseded by Airmar Part #41-230-1-01, Raymarine model E66079, which has XID. The newer model specs are on the Airmar site, but the older model specs are not.

Anyone know where to obtain the diagram and specs for the older transducer, or know the difference between the older and newer models on the wiring diagram? In the end I want to use this old ducer with a Garmin 7612xsv and Garmin junction box.
Old 12-30-2016, 06:19 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,743
Received 54 Likes on 51 Posts
Default

Call Gemeco, they will have what you need.
Old 01-02-2017, 05:00 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 354
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

http://airmar.com/uploads/wiringdiagrams/91_744.pdf
They have not changed the wiring.
Old 01-02-2017, 06:19 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,190
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by MikeBador View Post
http://airmar.com/uploads/wiringdiagrams/91_744.pdf
They have not changed the wiring.
Thanks! Its the same but without the XID #8 lead.

Any idea what the Green #4 lead called "Sense" is, and when I use this transducer for a Garmin MFD upgrade what block in the 8-pin Garmin Adapter junction box does the green lead get landed? It seems to be a ground for speed based on color protocol, but the transducer doesn't have speed.
Old 01-02-2017, 07:23 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,143
Received 681 Likes on 419 Posts
Default

you're going to need the impedance for the transducer...call gemeco w/your p/n and they will be able to get you the info you need. the link above is not even for a b260 but a 744, and is for a 'ducer w/xid which you don't have. I believe the pinout is the same but I would totally ignore it and call gemeco.
Old 01-02-2017, 02:06 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,190
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by chainsaw42 View Post
you're going to need the impedance for the transducer...call gemeco w/your p/n and they will be able to get you the info you need. the link above is not even for a b260 but a 744, and is for a 'ducer w/xid which you don't have. I believe the pinout is the same but I would totally ignore it and call gemeco.
I was able to find what I believe is the schematic on the Gemeco website, generic 7-pin Raymarine transducer with depth and temp only. Its the same wiring as the one above without an XID lead. I'll call Airmar to verify and for the impedance. Based on similar AWLQ B260 ducers with C32 cable I think impedance is 250ohms at 50KHz and 310ohms at 200 but I have no idea if I'm reading the spec sheets correctly. What ever happened to black on black, green on green, etc??
Old 01-02-2017, 02:55 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,143
Received 681 Likes on 419 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Auburn1 View Post
I was able to find what I believe is the schematic on the Gemeco website, generic 7-pin Raymarine transducer with depth and temp only. Its the same wiring as the one above without an XID lead. I'll call Airmar to verify and for the impedance. Based on similar AWLQ B260 ducers with C32 cable I think impedance is 250ohms at 50KHz and 310ohms at 200 but I have no idea if I'm reading the spec sheets correctly. What ever happened to black on black, green on green, etc??
you've been advised to call gemeco a couple times. I went through basically the same exercise w/a m260 & gsd24. gemeco was helpful and gave me the info I needed including the impedances. I'm just curious why you don't call them?

also keep in mind different '260' transducers have different impedances which is why I am not just posting mine, which is also an older 'raymarine' 260 w/out xid (I'm guessing the impedances are the same but not 100% sure)
Old 01-02-2017, 03:09 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,190
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by chainsaw42 View Post
you've been advised to call gemeco a couple times. I went through basically the same exercise w/a m260 & gsd24. gemeco was helpful and gave me the info I needed including the impedances. I'm just curious why you don't call them?

also keep in mind different '260' transducers have different impedances which is why I am not just posting mine, which is also an older 'raymarine' 260 w/out xid (I'm guessing the impedances are the same but not 100% sure)
Because its the holidays and they don't open until tomorrow.. I e-mailed a couple days ago and got the auto reply. In the mean time I thought I'd try for the answer here. I'll post what I learn from them since this seems to be a common exercise for electronics upgrades.
Old 01-03-2017, 09:21 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,190
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Gemeco was quite helpful and had all the answers. Most importantly he confirmed that this legacy Raymarine transducer is compatible with the Garmin MFD upgrade, which seems to be a point of contention with Raymarine transducers. He e-mailed the correct drawing, which is an obsolete shop drawing not posted on the Gemeco or Airmar websites. The wiring is similar to the current Raymarine/Airmar B260, just lacking XID. I didn't get the purpose of the green "sense" lead shown on the schematics but he said the lead doesn't get landed to a terminal block so leave it tucked into the Garmin adapter junction box. He stated that the noise-suppression ferrite found on Raymarine transducer cables isn't necessary when reconnecting to the new MFD.
Old 01-03-2017, 09:26 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,143
Received 681 Likes on 419 Posts
Default

sounds good. and I was more asking why you were planning on calling airmar rather than gemeco. what did he tell you the impedances are for it?
Old 01-03-2017, 10:39 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,190
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by chainsaw42 View Post
sounds good. and I was more asking why you were planning on calling airmar rather than gemeco. what did he tell you the impedances are for it?
When you call Airmar in NH and press the menu number for marine technical support your call is routed directly to Gemeco in SC. I figured Airmar would have the knowledge but apparently Gemeco does too and serves that function for Airmar.


I didn't get an answer for the impedance values; the tech rep at Gemeco stated that he didn't think I would need them to set up the 7612, that I would find the correct B260 parameters on the MFD. But on a Garmin video I see where you are prompted for the values. He said to call back if I need to input those numbers and he would help out. Great service.
Old 01-03-2017, 11:19 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,143
Received 681 Likes on 419 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Auburn1 View Post
When you call Airmar in NH and press the menu number for marine technical support your call is routed directly to Gemeco in SC. I figured Airmar would have the knowledge but apparently Gemeco does too and serves that function for Airmar.
that's sort of what I was getting at. although it used to be a lot more of a run around to figure it out vs. an automatic transfer.

Originally Posted by Auburn1 View Post
I didn't get an answer for the impedance values; the tech rep at Gemeco stated that he didn't think I would need them to set up the 7612, that I would find the correct B260 parameters on the MFD. But on a Garmin video I see where you are prompted for the values. He said to call back if I need to input those numbers and he would help out. Great service.
I think this is bad advice. I believe it will indeed default to some 'b260' impedance values. However, as I mentioned, not all b260's have the same impedance. I would want to know the impedance of my b260 and confirm on the garmin screen that it matches.
Old 01-03-2017, 04:49 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 354
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Auburn1 View Post
When you call Airmar in NH and press the menu number for marine technical support your call is routed directly to Gemeco in SC. I figured Airmar would have the knowledge but apparently Gemeco does too and serves that function for Airmar.


I didn't get an answer for the impedance values; the tech rep at Gemeco stated that he didn't think I would need them to set up the 7612, that I would find the correct B260 parameters on the MFD. But on a Garmin video I see where you are prompted for the values. He said to call back if I need to input those numbers and he would help out. Great service.
It's the same company. Airmar purchased GEM electronics (Now Gemeco) in 2005

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.