Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

No bass...

Old 12-27-2016, 03:14 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,402
Likes: 0
Received 303 Likes on 209 Posts
Default No bass...

Is there any way to get a bit of bass to come out of 4 8 inch Pioneer speakers? I mean, I knew they wouldn't be JL or Wetsounds but damn, I thought I'd get more than this. I have a Fusion bb300 and a jl mhd900.

I know the best thing will be add subs but at the moment money is tight so I'm stuck with what I have.
Old 12-27-2016, 03:41 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fernandina Beach, fl
Posts: 1,637
Received 73 Likes on 53 Posts
Default

you have the high pass filters turned on at the amp and/or in the headunit?
Old 12-27-2016, 10:11 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sarasota/ Bradenton fl
Posts: 3,314
Likes: 0
Received 70 Likes on 60 Posts
Default

Any 8in mid bass is only going to do mid bass good. What it's designed for. Sure you can try and get the lower frequencies to work but it will always to be only so so. No matter the brand. The cheaper ones will even be worse.
If your using a mhd 900 then you have plenty of power on tap. Even adding a budget oriented sub will be noticeable.
Old 12-27-2016, 11:35 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Are sure they are correctly phased? All positives and negatives have the same polarity at the speaker terminals.
Old 02-04-2017, 09:01 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,402
Likes: 0
Received 303 Likes on 209 Posts
Default

Ok so after a little digging I plugged an rca/phone cable directly into the amp and it has bass! What the heck?
Old 02-04-2017, 09:09 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,175
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

So if you have wide range directly from the phone but not when channeled through the HU, then pour over the HU manual looking for a default EQ or highpass setting.
Old 02-04-2017, 09:10 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,529
Received 581 Likes on 389 Posts
Default

The proof is in the connection. This happens a good bit with BT connections.
Old 02-04-2017, 10:01 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,402
Likes: 0
Received 303 Likes on 209 Posts
Default

I'm using a usb to the fusion. I'll look for some settings...
Old 02-04-2017, 11:45 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,402
Likes: 0
Received 303 Likes on 209 Posts
Default

Ok, the fusion manual says line out is zone 3 and subwoofer output (tied to zone 3)

I'm wondering if I got the subwoofer and line out rca's mixed up but I'm not sure if that would matter? It's hard to check because I installed it behind my mfd in a sealed compartment... There are settings in the fusion subwoofer section that has filter choices and it's on 50hz changing them seems to do nothing and adjusting the bass via the fusion tone control I can hear it go up and down but still sounds like it has a filter.
Old 02-04-2017, 02:52 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,175
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

VanW,
From your previous comments it appears that you have at least eliminated the amplifier as the problem.
Now the easiest thing to do is divide the HU and RCA cable in order to determine which of those is the culprit although I doubt the RCA cable is the issue. So take the phone directly into the HU side of the RCA cable with the RCA cable connected into the amplifier, via whatever adapter is required.
On to the HU. Regardless of the sub filter selection the sub out RCA will produce bass only and no fullrange, the opposite of what you are explaining. The other output zones are likely fullrange rather than having a corresponding highpass tied to the sub out filter selection. The bass portion of the HU tone control should make a profound difference unless there is a simultaneous functioning highpass filter. Have you tried all inputs on the amplifier?
Back to the amplifier. The amplifier should be the only device with a highpass filter.
Old 02-06-2017, 08:44 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,402
Likes: 0
Received 303 Likes on 209 Posts
Default

Works better now, ran new rca cables so I guess the Fusion has something going on with it's subwoofer output. I kind of figured it would be the opposite too but I guess not.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.