Notices

Battery Q - two 200 HPDI- 3 batteries

Old 04-21-2003, 06:56 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Miami, Florida USA
Posts: 632
Default Battery Q - two 200 HPDI- 3 batteries

Room for 3 batt. Want to have a cranking bat. to start both motors ( bank no. 1) two for the house ( bank no. 2?). Want to be able to start either motor with bank 2 also.

How do I set up switches; combiner; plan to have a shorepower charger... is there a relatively easy answer to this?

Thanks..
rayos is offline  
Old 04-22-2003, 10:19 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Battery Q - two 200 HPDI- 3 batteries

Why would you NOT put one battery for each motor as your supposed to? Then, either get a large house battery or strap two smaller batteries together to form you "House Bank". With the below setup, you have a starting battery for each motor, and a house battery. Turn the two ON/Off switches to On when using the boat, turn them off when not using the boat. The third switch is used for EMERGENCY starting ONLY. It allows you to parrallel ANY or ALL of the batteries in just about any combination to start em up.

Here is the best way to do it: PS-I have twin 200HPDI's, and three batteries!!



Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!

[This message was edited by Birdman on 04-22-03 at 01:43 PM.]
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-22-2003, 10:30 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Default Battery Q - two 200 HPDI- 3 batteries

Take a look at this thread. This topic was widely discussed a week or so ago. Very good. http://thehulltruth.com/6/ubb.x?a=tp...582#2536085582 Hope this helps.

Boston Whaler, "MUMBLER", 24' Outrage, twin 175 HP Evinrude Ocean Pros. Snowball, the cat...
Mumblerone is offline  
Old 04-23-2003, 05:13 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Miami, Florida USA
Posts: 632
Default Battery Q - two 200 HPDI- 3 batteries

Thanks Bird and Mumble.. that is very helpful.
rayos is offline  
Old 04-23-2003, 08:06 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 924
Default Battery Q - two 200 HPDI- 3 batteries

Yamaha V-6 motors have a built-in isolator that gives each motor the capacity to charge two batteries. The "primary" lead from each engine should go to its starting battery (through a switch) and the "secondary" to the house battery. With a three battery system, it is also possible to connect both secondary charging outputs to a single house battery.
Saltdog is offline  
Old 04-24-2003, 04:49 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Miami, Florida USA
Posts: 632
Default Battery Q - two 200 HPDI- 3 batteries

Thanks - Just in time Salt, met with the mech yesterday to give them a run-down on the wiring and we wondered whether the secondaries could be joined on the third battery. Can the secondary leads be connected to the house battery directly? ( The primarys to the starting via the switch )
rayos is offline  
Old 04-24-2003, 05:22 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 924
Default Battery Q - two 200 HPDI- 3 batteries

My Regulator 32 was rigged that way from the factory. The secondary alternator outputs go directly to the house battery. The house battery positive goes to a big circuit breaker and then to the distribution panel in the console via the house battery on-off switch. My external shore power charger lead is connected to the house battery at the "hot" input side of the battery switch.
Saltdog is offline  
Old 04-24-2003, 06:46 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 289
Default Battery Q - two 200 HPDI- 3 batteries

rayos

The Aux charge line from each motor can be tied together to charge the "Ship's Battery", I have been running this setup for over 2 years. I'de suggest using Two Off/1/2/Both SWs (One for each engine) connected to both starting batteries. And use an On/Off SW for the Ship's Battery connected to a Large CB, like Saltydog said.

I'de like to suggest using this inline fuse holder for the bilge pump. BLADE SEALED W'CAP
http://www.electerm.com/holder.html
HookMan is offline  
Old 04-25-2003, 07:01 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Miami, Florida USA
Posts: 632
Default Battery Q - two 200 HPDI- 3 batteries

Thanks Hookman. Real help.
rayos is offline  
Old 04-26-2003, 04:23 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 924
Default Battery Q - two 200 HPDI- 3 batteries

The setup Hookman described is exactly how my boat was rigged by the factory. Just be careful about the wire gauge for the battery cables because the runs get long with all the switches. Opt up in size, especially for the house battery.
Saltdog is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread