Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin Down Vu Issue

Old 12-06-2016, 07:57 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 779
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default Garmin Down Vu Issue

I'm assuming I need to contact Garmin but throwing it out there in case it is a simple issue.

Traditional sonar works fine and the down scan was working fine but the last couple of times I've been out if I switch over to the down scan it reads that I'm in a couple feet of water when I'm actually in 150 or so. Switch back to traditional and it's fine.

Is there something I can check or is that just a call to Garmin?
Old 12-06-2016, 08:12 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Can you get a screen shot?
What MFD?
What transducer?
What are the water conditions - lots of surface clutter, debris?
What are the gain settings on the downview?

It will be best if you can call customer support from the boat while you are in the water.
Old 12-06-2016, 08:35 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 779
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Yrral3215 View Post
Can you get a screen shot?
What MFD?
What transducer?
What are the water conditions - lots of surface clutter, debris?
What are the gain settings on the downview?

It will be best if you can call customer support from the boat while you are in the water.



It is a 74dv and the water has been pretty clean of debris. Transducer is whatever is the standard on that unit. Just strange that it was working fine and not it's not and the standard sonar works fine. Hadn't thought of calling from the water but good idea.
Old 12-06-2016, 09:45 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

When you say "it reads" a couple of feet depth - what do you mean? Is the digital depth number showing 2 ft when the 2D digital number shows 150 - or does it just look like the bottom is 2 ft down?

If it looks like the bottom is 2 ft down - depending on exactly how it looks - you may just have the gain too hi or maybe the zoom is wrong, etc.

This is where a screen shot would help.
Old 12-06-2016, 10:22 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 779
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Yrral3215 View Post
When you say "it reads" a couple of feet depth - what do you mean? Is the digital depth number showing 2 ft when the 2D digital number shows 150 - or does it just look like the bottom is 2 ft down?

If it looks like the bottom is 2 ft down - depending on exactly how it looks - you may just have the gain too hi or maybe the zoom is wrong, etc.

This is where a screen shot would help.


yeah, both. It says 1.9ft and the bottom is right there.
Old 12-08-2016, 11:07 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

I dont know what else to suggest then. It would still help to get a screen shot, but it sounds like you need to call them.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.