Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 8212 question

Old 11-22-2016, 03:59 PM
  #1  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Beaufort North Carolina
Posts: 4,730
Received 1,401 Likes on 623 Posts
Default Garmin 8212 question

I have 6 Garmin items on my NEMA 2k backbone, in the past when new updates came out I just download to a SD card and put it in my old 4212 and all the equipment with new software would be updated. Now the 8212 has an external card reader that plugs into the unit instead of the backbone I wonder if updating will be as simple as before ?


Thanks
Ken
Old 11-22-2016, 04:04 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sarasota/ Bradenton fl
Posts: 3,315
Likes: 0
Received 77 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ken T View Post
I have 6 Garmin items on my NEMA 2k backbone, in the past when new updates came out I just download to a SD card and put it in my old 4212 and all the equipment with new software would be updated. Now the 8212 has an external card reader that plugs into the unit instead of the backbone I wonder if updating will be as simple as before ?


Thanks
Ken
Yes the same
Old 11-22-2016, 04:05 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 543
Received 25 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

I have a 5208 and a newly purchased 8212 and when I put the update card in the 5208 it did not update the 8212. I had to put the update card in the 8212 to update that software alone. I don't think the older 'gray' units will communicate with the newer 'black' units via the network. Unless I didn't do it correctly which is a strong possibility. I think you will have to update them individually.
Old 11-22-2016, 04:07 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: statesville/oak island nc
Posts: 753
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Has been with mine. I have (2)-8212s (1) Card Reader, (1) GSD 24, (1) XM Weather module, (1) VHF 200 and Garmin Autopilot with smart pump. Everything i have updates from the Card Reader with the exception of the VHF 200 but the manual on it says it cannot update over NMEA 2000.
Old 11-22-2016, 05:19 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,196
Received 696 Likes on 431 Posts
Default

5212 and 8212 use different update files. Check the update file details to see which units are updated with each file.
Old 11-22-2016, 07:14 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 4,304
Received 309 Likes on 261 Posts
Default

Yes the 4212 takes the legacy update file and the 8212 the current update file. You will need to update each individually with the appropriate update file.


Jim
Old 11-24-2016, 07:05 AM
  #7  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Beaufort North Carolina
Posts: 4,730
Received 1,401 Likes on 623 Posts
Default

Got it...thanks

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.