Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

How to share GPS data between two 7610XSV's

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

How to share GPS data between two 7610XSV's

Old 11-18-2016, 11:38 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default How to share GPS data between two 7610XSV's

I have 2 x 7610XSV's, I run one as a sounder and one as a GPS, they are networked via Garmin marine network ethernet cable, they talk to each perfectly, auto syncing waypoints between head units and sharing data from the 3 transducers I run (B265, GT51 and B744). All sweet and no issues.


Only issue I have is the starboard side 7610 is mounted very close to the side bulkhead of the boat and it receives a weaker GPS signal than the starboard 7610 and sometimes struggles to get a GPS lock. Unfortunately this is the unit I run as a GPS (as it is easier to use as a GPS my arm rests on the side of the boat so I don't want to swap the two screens).


I don't seem to be able to select the port side GPS data to use on the starboard side unit from any of the menus (I think I have checked them all)? I think I need a NMEA2000 network to get this to work? Could I use NMEA0183, as this will cost nothing?


I don't really want to get an external antenna if I can help it, as the internal antenna on the port side works perfectly.




Any tips appreciated.


Cheers
Old 11-19-2016, 01:01 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Have you tried this? Pg 2 in the manual

You may also have to turn on sharing but I dont remember for sure.
Attached Images  
Old 11-19-2016, 01:07 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

By the way, there are two very easy ways for finding info in the manual.

1) The entire manual is on the chart plotter already and can be searched by key word. Just touch Info/Owners Manual and it will pop up.

2) I downloaded a copy from the Garmin site so that when Im not on the boat I can easily search it for key words. Thats much faster and easier than thumbing through a paper manual.
Old 11-19-2016, 02:22 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Yep, I have the manual on the GPS and printed and yep, tried that first. The port XSV does not come up as an option in the list. That is what surprised me.
Old 11-19-2016, 02:48 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,184
Received 689 Likes on 426 Posts
Default

You have them connected via marine network AND nmea2k, per the manual, correct?
Old 11-19-2016, 03:11 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,640
Received 92 Likes on 68 Posts
Default

"Usually" the internal should work just fine apparently, maybe "usually" is probably conservatively over rated?
Old 11-19-2016, 03:24 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,554
Received 1,668 Likes on 1,265 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by chainsaw42 View Post
You have them connected via marine network AND nmea2k, per the manual, correct?
^^^^^^^ this

it seems odd, given the enormous data-carrying capacity of the ethernet connection,

but Garmin doesn't use it for the GPS data. The units need to be on a N2K network.



This is from a 7608 networked to a 547 - both also on N2K.

Unplug the N2K and the 547 option disappears.
Old 11-19-2016, 06:46 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Thanks. That's what I suspected. I will hook up the N2K network.


Cheers
Old 11-19-2016, 10:06 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Kerry View Post
"Usually" the internal should work just fine apparently, maybe "usually" is probably conservatively over rated?
hahahahaha yup
Old 11-19-2016, 05:43 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Well......before I went out and bought a N2K kit, I decided to try the NMEA0183 wires, which are free....


Hooked up port 2 and hey presto, it worked. But update was slow (about a second, which is consistent with the slow 4800 baud rate of normal NMEA0183).


Then changes both Garmin 7610's port 2 to high speed 38400 baud, and speed now very fast and I get the good signal from the port unit on the starboard unit, FOR FREE (apart from soldering two wires together.


Not sure if NMEA0183 High Speed will be fast enough out on the water, but from what I can tell, it is about 10 Hz, same as the Garmin XSV GPS.......


Always learning.
Old 11-19-2016, 05:50 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Excellent!
Old 11-19-2016, 09:20 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,975
Likes: 0
Received 337 Likes on 282 Posts
Default

So you bought $5000 worth of screens but you are too cheap to spend $80 on a n2k starter kit so they are hooked up properly?...
Old 11-19-2016, 09:35 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

I dont see whats "improper" about what he has done? It works just fine and cost nothing. Of course an N2K setup will do a lot more and is faster, but I dont see anything wrong with his solution.
Old 11-20-2016, 03:14 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Hahaha......good call on the "too cheap" comment......actually not the case, and it was a lot more than $5000 after adding a GT51 tranny on the keel and a B265 in fairing to supplement the existing B744 as well as a 16 inch LCD heads up display......so not too cheap, just wanted to see what was really required. I suspect high speed 0183 is probably more than acceptable. I actually previously had both 7610XSV's hooked up with N2K but did not see any benefit at the time (the starboard GPS was behaving itself originally) so I gave it to a mate for free who needed N2K.


I think a lot of people think NMEA2000 is some wonderful thing....it is pretty basic compared with the full Ethernet marine network that I already have between both units, its just that it does not transfer GPS data.


Anyhoo, the old skool NMEA0183 high speed seems to be working, will take it for a run and see how it goes. If no good, I will get the N2K but don't see the point if not required. An external 10hz antenna via N2K would be best but the internal GPS on the starboard is bloody good and is 10hz, accurate to 8-10ft which is OK.


Thanks for everyone's help.
Old 11-20-2016, 03:23 AM
  #15  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Very happy with the setup by the way.


Name:  Kogan%20Small_zpshnox1zrq.jpg
Views: 209
Size:  169.2 KB
Old 11-20-2016, 03:49 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,554
Received 1,668 Likes on 1,265 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Conquest235 View Post

Anyhoo, the old skool NMEA0183 high speed seems to be working, will take it for a run and see how it goes. If no good, I will get the N2K but don't see the point if not required. An external 10hz antenna via N2K would be best but the internal GPS on the starboard is bloody good and is 10hz, accurate to 8-10ft which is OK.
I'm sure the 0183 will work fine - and arguably "more reliable" than N2K -

with less connectors (which you soldered) and no need for separate power.


But I'm curious - what does the Garmin "GPS Source" menu show for it?

does 0183 have a "sentence" that carries the device identification?

or does the menu just say "NMEA 0183"
Old 11-20-2016, 05:36 AM
  #17  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Comes up as:


NMEA0183:2
Old 11-20-2016, 08:57 AM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Apollo beach
Posts: 410
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Conquest235 View Post
Very happy with the setup by the way.


That is cool. How do you display to 16 inch? Video out? And where do you get a LCD screen that is dc?

Last edited by mp5475; 11-20-2016 at 09:09 AM.
Old 11-20-2016, 06:26 PM
  #19  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

The 7610 and larger Garmins have a DVI video output on the back, so you just plug in a DVI - HDMI cable to a monitor.


I found an el cheapo 16 inch DC HD LCD on the interweb for AUD$130. Not water proof at all and I did not think it would last but it has operated perfectly for 8 months. At that price I can replace it once per year and still be way in front of a dedicated large marine monitor.
Old 11-20-2016, 07:12 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Usually the cheaper ones are not bright enough for outdoor use. I see you have a cabin which will help, but how is that one on a bright sunny day?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.