Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Noob question on Navoinics card and cards with gps coords

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Noob question on Navoinics card and cards with gps coords

Old 11-18-2016, 05:02 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Tabor City, North Carolina
Posts: 921
Likes: 0
Received 62 Likes on 36 Posts
Default Noob question on Navoinics card and cards with gps coords

Ok, I'm a noob on this subject and need some understanding. I've pretty much decided on getting the simrad go 9 with total scan and navionics card. I understand the navonics card has maps on it. But what kind of information can I expect to be on the navionics card? I've also, been told that it has to remain in the chartplotter to use the maps. Which brings up the other question. Looking online I thought I had found where you can buy memory cards with gps coordinates already on it for fishing spots. Would that memory card have to remain in the chartplotter in order to get the coordinates? Wouldn't that make it hard to have the navionics map to use and gps coordinates at the same time or can all of this info be uploaded to the chartplotter? I was told the navionics card in the bundle contains full coastal and inland coverage for the US. I've seen other navionics cards with less coverage, what would you gain by getting a card for a specific area over having the one described in the package?
Old 11-19-2016, 08:01 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,743
Received 54 Likes on 51 Posts
Default

Navionics lets you see their charts online for free. It's the same detail you with get with the Navionics+ chip.

https://webapp.navionics.com/?lang=e...ep%60%7BFxbpvL

Navionics Platinum+ offers more bells and whistles for a smaller coverage area.... 3D views, aerial photography of POIs, satellite overlay. 2D depth shading...

Navionics+ you can insert into your computer and download their SonarChart HD Bathymetric fishing charts for free. Platinum+ will have it pre-loaded.
Old 11-19-2016, 08:34 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Tabor City, North Carolina
Posts: 921
Likes: 0
Received 62 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Amity83 View Post
Navionics lets you see their charts online for free. It's the same detail you with get with the Navionics+ chip.

https://webapp.navionics.com/?lang=e...ep%60%7BFxbpvL

Navionics Platinum+ offers more bells and whistles for a smaller coverage area.... 3D views, aerial photography of POIs, satellite overlay. 2D depth shading...

Navionics+ you can insert into your computer and download their SonarChart HD Bathymetric fishing charts for free. Platinum+ will have it pre-loaded.


Thanks for the link. It seems to show the wrecks and reefs. I've been playing around with it. Seems very cool.
Old 11-19-2016, 08:57 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,743
Received 54 Likes on 51 Posts
Default

C-Map also has nice charts that you can use on a GO9. Their MAX-N+ line has some nice features, including dynamic raster charts. Navico lets you use a number of chart brands... Navionics, Insight, C-Map, NV Digital...

...cue Egret&Lab jumping in about how all charts except for his are junk.
Old 11-19-2016, 09:01 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Tabor City, North Carolina
Posts: 921
Likes: 0
Received 62 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

But does it require for these cards to stay installed in the unit to use them or can they be uploaded to the unit itself?
Old 11-19-2016, 09:18 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,743
Received 54 Likes on 51 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Eightofnine View Post
But does it require for these cards to stay installed in the unit to use them or can they be uploaded to the unit itself?
The chart chips have to stay in the slot to be used.
Old 11-19-2016, 09:57 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Eightofnine View Post
But does it require for these cards to stay installed in the unit to use them or can they be uploaded to the unit itself?
Yes - both cards have to be in the MFD to be used. If your MFD only has one sd card slot, then you will have to switch back and forth.
Old 11-19-2016, 10:01 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,078
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

You should be able to insert the fishing hotspots card into your MFD, then create waypoints on the chart that you are interested in going to. Then remove the hotspot card and insert your chart card. You should then be able to see your new waypoints while the chart card is in place.
Old 11-22-2016, 02:13 PM
  #9  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

In my experience, a Plat+ won't give you much more detail than Simrad's Insight (which is already in the unit, not on a card) Not Navionics' fault. Try it with just Insight, it may be all you need
Old 11-22-2016, 02:30 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE North Carolina
Posts: 993
Likes: 0
Received 77 Likes on 48 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Yrral3215 View Post
You should be able to insert the fishing hotspots card into your MFD, then create waypoints on the chart that you are interested in going to. Then remove the hotspot card and insert your chart card. You should then be able to see your new waypoints while the chart card is in place.

This ^^
I got a hotspots card and loaded all of the locations into my waypoints that are stored on the MDF. The chart card has to stay in the slot but the charts will show all of your waypoints.
Old 11-23-2016, 12:15 PM
  #11  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by robrrt View Post
In my experience, a Plat+ won't give you much more detail than Simrad's Insight (which is already in the unit, not on a card) Not Navionics' fault. Try it with just Insight, it may be all you need
The standard Navionics + charts are similar to the standard charts on most units but when you turn on Sonar Charts it's a whole different ball game. I'm a west coast guy, but out here it shows way more detail than any other product.
These two images show the standard chart vs sonar charts at Santa Barbara Island.
Attached Images   
Old 11-23-2016, 05:43 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Tabor City, North Carolina
Posts: 921
Likes: 0
Received 62 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

Looks like I'm going to need lessons to fully understand a gps/fish finder.
Old 11-25-2016, 02:43 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Destin, FL area
Posts: 72
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Eightofnine View Post
Ok, I'm a noob on this subject and need some understanding. I've pretty much decided on getting the simrad go 9 with total scan and navionics card. I understand the navonics card has maps on it. But what kind of information can I expect to be on the navionics card? I've also, been told that it has to remain in the chartplotter to use the maps. Which brings up the other question. Looking online I thought I had found where you can buy memory cards with gps coordinates already on it for fishing spots. Would that memory card have to remain in the chartplotter in order to get the coordinates? Wouldn't that make it hard to have the navionics map to use and gps coordinates at the same time or can all of this info be uploaded to the chartplotter? I was told the navionics card in the bundle contains full coastal and inland coverage for the US. I've seen other navionics cards with less coverage, what would you gain by getting a card for a specific area over having the one described in the package?
1. Your Navionics plat+ card must be inserted into your Simrad MFD in order to see the Navionics charts.

2. That being said, my Lowrance unit has two SD card slots. But even if your Simrad has only one SD card slot, you must actually download waypoints from an SD card (that has waypoints on it) to see them on your Simrad. After you download the waypoints, they are saved to your Simrad's internal memory, so you should be able to still see them when you put in the Navionics card.

3. The advantage of having two card slots is that you can save sonar data to another card while you're looking at a Navionics chart. But you don't need two cards to look at a waypoint file and Navionics charts.

Does this answer your question?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.