Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

transfering waypoints from garmin 3210 to 8212 using NMEA 0813

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

transfering waypoints from garmin 3210 to 8212 using NMEA 0813

Old 11-18-2016, 09:04 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: somewhere in FL
Posts: 2,020
Received 137 Likes on 83 Posts
Default transfering waypoints from garmin 3210 to 8212 using NMEA 0813

I'm upgrading and don't have the card reader for my proprietary garmin card.


There has been mention on THT you can hook up NMEA 0813 on both units and transfer waypoints from one machine to the other.


I hooked the blue and brown (and vice versa) and tried to send waypoints from the 3210, but it didn't work. I'm sure there is a step I'm missing.


Has anyone here had success doing this?
Old 11-18-2016, 09:10 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,494
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Check to make sure both units are set to NMEA 0183 on the data ports you're using. The default setting is usually something like Garmin Host on a new unit and that won't get the job done.
Old 11-18-2016, 12:12 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 4,297
Received 309 Likes on 261 Posts
Default

Tried that did not work with either 8212 or 7612. If you need some help I can transfer them for you. Just send a PM




Jim
Old 11-19-2016, 01:06 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,970
Received 436 Likes on 272 Posts
Default

Jfwireless to the rescue!

I've transferred waypoints via NMEA0183 to a computer and back to a plotter but you need to wire up a DB9 connector and use a serial port or USB to serial converter. More trouble than it's worth. Take JFW up on his offer.
Old 11-20-2016, 04:22 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: somewhere in FL
Posts: 2,020
Received 137 Likes on 83 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Buoy Scout View Post
Jfwireless to the rescue!

I've transferred waypoints via NMEA0183 to a computer and back to a plotter but you need to wire up a DB9 connector and use a serial port or USB to serial converter. More trouble than it's worth. Take JFW up on his offer.

I fully intend to. Guys like Jim are what makes THT so good

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.