Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Radar question

Old 11-18-2016, 07:21 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: ENC
Posts: 1,555
Received 1,420 Likes on 633 Posts
Default Radar question

My boat came with an older, non-working Furuno radar. The previous owner told me that there is a heating element inside the radome and that it went bad. Is this something that can be fixed?
Old 11-18-2016, 12:40 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: ENC
Posts: 1,555
Received 1,420 Likes on 633 Posts
Default Bump. Anyone????

If this helps me get an answer, this is not the wife (we are separated), but the girl I'm currently talking to.
Attached Images  
Old 11-19-2016, 12:51 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Yes, you need a new magnetron. The heater in the magnetron usually operates at 4 to 6 volts DC and is used to boil off the Barium Oxide during the 2 minute warm up standby time. The heater is integral within the magnetron.

This is a consumable component and wears out. There are a number of manufacturers who make replacements. Suggest whoever does the repair, also quote on a new MIC Unit as they are usually replaced at the same time.
When done, leave new magnetron to 'cook' by staying in 'Standby' for 30 minutes before transmitting.
Failing to do so, with any new Pulse Radar, will reduce the life expectancy of the magnetron considerably. Nice looking new autopilot you have ...
Old 11-19-2016, 06:12 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: ENC
Posts: 1,555
Received 1,420 Likes on 633 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by isitstuffed View Post
Yes, you need a new magnetron. The heater in the magnetron usually operates at 4 to 6 volts DC and is used to boil off the Barium Oxide during the 2 minute warm up standby time. The heater is integral within the magnetron.

This is a consumable component and wears out. There are a number of manufacturers who make replacements. Suggest whoever does the repair, also quote on a new MIC Unit as they are usually replaced at the same time.
When done, leave new magnetron to 'cook' by staying in 'Standby' for 30 minutes before transmitting.
Failing to do so, with any new Pulse Radar, will reduce the life expectancy of the magnetron considerably. Nice looking new autopilot you have ...
OK thank you! I this something I could do myself or do I need to send it off somewhere? I am an electrician but I've never messed with radar before (obviously).
Attached Images  
Old 11-19-2016, 07:08 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tarpon Springs, FL
Posts: 8,809
Received 4,113 Likes on 2,342 Posts
Default

Get an estimate for both the magnetron replacement and for a complete new unit before you decide which way to go. Remember every other part in that radar is the same age as the magnetron.
Old 11-19-2016, 09:21 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Flowood MS/Orange Beach AL
Posts: 993
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Certainly get an estimate, but radars have evolved a lot in the past few years as well as come down in price and simplicity (to install). I would lean heavily towards buying a new one.

good luck either way
Old 11-19-2016, 10:09 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: ENC
Posts: 1,555
Received 1,420 Likes on 633 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mscontender View Post
Certainly get an estimate, but radars have evolved a lot in the past few years as well as come down in price and simplicity (to install). I would lean heavily towards buying a new one.

good luck either way
Thanks, but a new one is not within my budget right now. If I can get this one going for a couple hundred bucks and get a few more years out of it that'd be ideal. If not, I can live without radar I guess.
Old 11-19-2016, 05:50 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Vitamin_Sea View Post
OK thank you! I this something I could do myself or do I need to send it off somewhere? I am an electrician but I've never messed with radar before (obviously).
You wouldn't be able to replace it yourself. Need service info for setting up heater voltage and retuning etc, but you could fault find further. As you are an electrician you can measure the heater for continuity, if open, its caused mag failure. Check to see if DC heater voltage is present. If not the power supply could have failed in which case scrap it.
Old 11-19-2016, 06:07 PM
  #9  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: At the floaters . . .
Posts: 9,680
Received 3,314 Likes on 1,561 Posts
Default

Lot of "experts" here lol.

Let's start with what is the make and model?

That will be a good starting point
Old 11-20-2016, 01:53 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rbhankins001 View Post
Lot of "experts" here lol.

Let's start with what is the make and model?

That will be a good starting point
Its a Furuno.
Probably a 4kW recreational running the Furuno Toshiba E3571 or NJRC/EEV E3571 magnetron.
Usually used by Furuno for their X-band pulse marine radar
If it is...
Heater voltage 6.3 V usually on a pigtail
Heater current 0.55 A if not open circuit
Peak anode voltage 3.7 kV which is why he shouldnt do it himself
Average output power 1.7 W (min.) enough to fry your eyes
Frequency 9380 to 9440 MHz which requires tuning

So yes, some here are 'experts' and donate their knowledge. I don't need to know the make or model to answer the OP.
Likes:
Old 11-20-2016, 06:55 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 851
Received 174 Likes on 113 Posts
Default radar-isitstuffed- question

isststuffed

not doubting your info, sounds like to have a lot of knowledge- a few questions:

are there any instructions of data that talk about letting the radar warm up in standby for 30 minutes before transmitting (never heard about this). are all radar's the same and would last longer with a 30 minute warm up? does that also mean they also need a cool down period?
Old 11-20-2016, 02:54 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by hipmotized View Post
isststuffed

not doubting your info, sounds like to have a lot of knowledge- a few questions:

are there any instructions of data that talk about letting the radar warm up in standby for 30 minutes before transmitting (never heard about this). are all radar's the same and would last longer with a 30 minute warm up? does that also mean they also need a cool down period?
The initial use, and any prolonged lay up of a radar over 2 or 3 months requires the extended warm up time 30 minutes or more to efficiently carryout the 'Magnetron Sputtering Deposition' process. Lets not get in too deep suffice to say it is a manufacturers requirement for radar magnetrons for a reason. The information is usually in service manuals not installation or operators manuals.
The prime reason for this 30 minute warm up time is to prolong and meet the life expectancy of the magnetron. That being usually 3000 hours, incorrect installation and misuse can reduce life expectancy down to 1000 hours. The magnetrons are third party ‘generic’ used by marine radar manufacturers. I have replaced 2 kW in Radomes up to 50 and 60 kWatts open arrays in commercial ships radar. All are the same in operation, continuous wave pulsed, but come in different designs and in various power ratings and for marine applications usually 2 frequencies for X band and S band radar with 3 cm or 10 cm wavelengths. Many magnetrons and MIC units (Microwave IC Frequency Converter with Limiter) are transferable from one brand to the other. The limiter in the MIC unit, limits direct injection from other nearby radars which is why it too, should be changed.
Attached is a warning from Si-Tex (also Koden in Australia) for whom I was the Australian National Service Manager (for the sole importer/distributor) for 13 years and Warranty service technician for Koden and Simrad (Anritzu etc).
In answer to your final question, there is no cooling down requirement.
Attached Images  

Last edited by isitstuffed; 11-20-2016 at 04:53 PM.
Old 11-21-2016, 04:58 AM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: ENC
Posts: 1,555
Received 1,420 Likes on 633 Posts
Default

This is the exact info I needed! Thanks guys!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.