Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Convert TD (Loran numbers) to Lat and Lon???

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Convert TD (Loran numbers) to Lat and Lon???

Old 11-18-2016, 06:27 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marblehead MA
Posts: 693
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Convert TD (Loran numbers) to Lat and Lon???

Anyone have a way mathematically, or a website that converts TD numbers to lat and lon numbers? Switching GPSs and want to transfer some important numbers. I have a CE33 simrad which is ancient and it seems to be stuck in phantom loran mode. Any suggestions? Thanks.
Old 11-18-2016, 06:29 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 543
Received 25 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

have no idea if this works but found this on the internet

http://nefsc.noaa.gov/loranconv/latlonarea.pl
Old 11-18-2016, 07:38 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 1,068
Received 70 Likes on 32 Posts
Default

I used Andren (Andren.com) and was very happy with the results.

They have 2 options. You can send them all your numbers and they will convert them for you, or you can buy their program and convert them yourself. I had them do it for me since I only had 90 numbers to convert. They charge per 100 numbers.

How accurate were they?

Off by a little bit but the spots I've been to since the conversion I have been able to find good bottom within 50yds every time. It gets you close enough that you can use your bottom machine to get on top of the fish.
Old 11-18-2016, 07:48 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
triumphrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Masaryktown, Fl
Posts: 19,152
Received 4,934 Likes on 2,185 Posts
Default

What unit are you going to?

I have had a low end Lowrance and several Garmins and both of them will convert or upload Loran TD numbers...

You will need to know the chain and the transmitters used when they were recorded.
Old 11-18-2016, 07:53 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marblehead MA
Posts: 693
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Thanks for the advice. What did they charge for the 100 numbers? I am going to an NSS12, but that CE33 has no way to output the numbers except by hand.
Old 11-18-2016, 08:47 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 1,068
Received 70 Likes on 32 Posts
Default

Actually, if you send it to them in the correct format it's only $30 no matter how many numbers you have. They normally get you the conversion within a day.
Old 11-18-2016, 09:29 AM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 36
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I might be wrong, but I think I saw an option in Garmin's Homeport to imput Loran coordinates. It will then show them on the chart. You can then save the chart as a .GPX file and transfer them to your Simrad.
Old 11-21-2016, 06:14 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Indian River, DE
Posts: 875
Likes: 0
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Farside88 View Post
I used Andren (Andren.com) and was very happy with the results.
Since moving to a Mac I forgot about the Andren's program. Started using it for LORAN numbers back in the late 80's when Carl was first starting out.
Wasn't unusual back then when you had a software issue to discuss it with him with a phone call, then have the call turn into general conversations.

The program was great for maintaining a log, converting and printing of waypoints on a graphical map. Stopped using it when I retried form diving, but after seeing it brought back up here I just might upgrade.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.