Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin AP Helm Control Suzuki backbone

Old 11-14-2016, 08:11 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 717
Received 136 Likes on 64 Posts
Default Garmin AP Helm Control Suzuki backbone

So I've got a Suzuki backbone which is a key on backbone and a Garmin backbone which is a battery switch on backbone. The Autopilot helm controller is on the Suzuki backbone. The Autopilot CCU is on the Garmin backbone. This makes sense in a few ways to me since I can't use the helm controller unless the engines are on anyways but the CCU provides GPS data that I sometimes will want with the key off.

My question is, is there a reason to move the helm controller to the Garmin backbone? That one's powered by a Garmin power drop where I believe the Suzuki backbone is getting power from a Suzuki power cord. Functionally on the boat I like where they are powered but just wondering if I risk doing any damage to the helm controller by having it on the Suzuki backbone with the Suzuki power cord. Thanks.
Old 11-14-2016, 02:53 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

You kinda lost me there. As long as you are not double powering anything on the backbone you are good to go. Some use the power node others use a non powered Garmin T for separation of power but allowing data to be shared. .

Mike
Old 11-14-2016, 03:10 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 717
Received 136 Likes on 64 Posts
Default

Thanks Mike. Just wondering if garmin devices are happier on garmin powered backbone or Suzuki powered backbone. Or if it matters none how I mix and match so long as using garmin isolator to keep power sources separate
Old 11-14-2016, 03:49 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Correct. The data flows but no double power
Old 11-14-2016, 04:12 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 261
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I have a similar setup. Dual DF175's and DF20a, dual stations with digital controls and C10 gauges and a boatload of Garmin gear including autopilot, MFDs, radar, GPS, vhf, etc. I balanced the two backbones based on what I might use with engines on or off but kept power isolated. Works great. One thing to remember if you put any Garmin device on the Suzuki backbone is to power up both backbones when doing any software update... so all devices are found.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.