Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

NMEA 2K engine data

Old 11-12-2016, 09:16 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Gibsons, BC Canada
Posts: 251
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default NMEA 2K engine data

I have recently purchased (not yet installed) the Noland RS11 Engine Data Converter. One unit for twin engines allows me tachometers, engine oil and trans oil pressures and coolant temperature (I believe).
Now I am thinking about fuel levels as well as various tank levels, possibly the genset as well.
Purchasing a second (or unit with more ports) is easy, but the question is "space" on the MFD. I use a combination of 12" and one 15" 7000 level Garmins, plus three GMI 20s. If I add more sensors will the screen be too hard to read (assuming the gauges get smaller as more are displayed?) Can the GMI 20s take some data while the MFD takes other?
Experience and advice is always appreciated, thank you !
Old 11-12-2016, 12:11 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,220
Likes: 0
Received 298 Likes on 170 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Blues Traveler View Post
I have recently purchased (not yet installed) the Noland RS11 Engine Data Converter. One unit for twin engines allows me tachometers, engine oil and trans oil pressures and coolant temperature (I believe).
Now I am thinking about fuel levels as well as various tank levels, possibly the genset as well.
Purchasing a second (or unit with more ports) is easy, but the question is "space" on the MFD. I use a combination of 12" and one 15" 7000 level Garmins, plus three GMI 20s. If I add more sensors will the screen be too hard to read (assuming the gauges get smaller as more are displayed?) Can the GMI 20s take some data while the MFD takes other?
Experience and advice is always appreciated, thank you !
You can create custom pages on the GMI-20s and select whatever combination of data you want. I find the digital (numerical) format data display to be more readable especially if you use the smaller sizes. The data boxes on the 7600 units can also be customized to show whatever you wish. With three GMI-20s,you should be just fine. My boat has one GMI-20, which I use primarily for fuel related data. I put the engine data in data boxes on the MFD (though I also have dedicated engine displays).

It sounds as though you will be getting NMEA 2000 tank level adapters, which should work fine. You could create a custom page on one GMI-20 dedicated to the fuel, water, etc tankage. Alternatively, you could put it on your 7600 on an instrument page. As for the generator, that may be harder to get on the NMEA2000 network depending upon which unit you have in the boat.
Old 11-12-2016, 12:23 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Gibsons, BC Canada
Posts: 251
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Nomans View Post
You can create custom pages on the GMI-20s and select whatever combination of data you want. I find the digital (numerical) format data display to be more readable especially if you use the smaller sizes. The data boxes on the 7600 units can also be customized to show whatever you wish. With three GMI-20s,you should be just fine. My boat has one GMI-20, which I use primarily for fuel related data. I put the engine data in data boxes on the MFD (though I also have dedicated engine displays).

It sounds as though you will be getting NMEA 2000 tank level adapters, which should work fine. You could create a custom page on one GMI-20 dedicated to the fuel, water, etc tankage. Alternatively, you could put it on your 7600 on an instrument page. As for the generator, that may be harder to get on the NMEA2000 network depending upon which unit you have in the boat.
Thank you, the Garmins I am using are the early 7000 series (three 7212s and one 7215) however, not sure if this is any difference, display wise. The genset is an older WMD11 Westerbeke, but was thinking of using another Noland RS11 connected to its gauges. I have not had much success finding an image od a "gauge display" on a 12" Garmin MFD, to get an idea of readability.
Old 11-12-2016, 05:16 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,220
Likes: 0
Received 298 Likes on 170 Posts
Default

Sorry I assumed you had 7600 series MFDs. Not sure of the flexibility on the older units. Nevertheless, with three Gmi-20s, you should be covered.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.