Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Northstar to Simrad

Old 11-10-2016, 02:52 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 630
Received 20 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Northstar to Simrad

I have a Northstar 6100 and was looking to upgrade to a Simrad NSS series MFD. Will my 491 echo sounder with 1kw airmar transducer work with the new NSS or do I need to get a new box also? I'm not looking for chirp or side scan and like what I have now, just thought it might be time for an upgrade.
Old 11-12-2016, 06:01 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 630
Received 20 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

???
Old 11-12-2016, 06:53 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Cape May Point, NJ
Posts: 618
Received 44 Likes on 32 Posts
Default

As the 491 connects to the 6000 via nmea 0183 port, I don't see why you wouldn't also be able to connect it through the nmea 0183 on the NSS. However, you should probably confirm with NAVICO tech service. I have found them to be fairly responsive through the email contact form on the simrad website. Good luck.

I still run a Northstar 961. Have always been curious how well the 491 sounder performed. Any comments?
Old 11-12-2016, 07:04 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,757
Received 644 Likes on 430 Posts
Default

The new gear will pass the old in functionality and performance.
Old 11-12-2016, 10:23 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,501
Received 528 Likes on 306 Posts
Default

The 1kw Northstar transducer is a dual line/none diplexed. Your only option would be to go with an airmar external diplexer with 1kw bl mix and match cable. Then you'll need either a bsm1 or a unit with built in 50/200. I recall there being something funny about the impedance on those transducers, call airmar to make sure this setup won't damage the machine or sounder module
Old 11-13-2016, 03:49 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 630
Received 20 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

OK, so it sounds like I need to loose the 491 and get a new box also. How about my transducer? It's a thru-hull airmar 1k.
Old 11-13-2016, 06:06 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,501
Received 528 Likes on 306 Posts
Default

The 1kw Northstar transducer is a dual line/none diplexed. Your only option would be to go with an airmar external diplexer with 1kw bl mix and match cable. Then you'll need either a bsm1 or a unit with built in 50/200. I recall there being something funny about the impedance on those transducers, call airmar to make sure this setup won't damage the machine or sounder module

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.